Tri-series 2016: Calypso cricket awaits Aussies and Proteas

Tri-series 2016: Calypso cricket awaits Aussies and Proteas

West Indies World T20
West Indies.
(Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP/Getty Images)

The tri-series 2016 in the Caribbean is set to begin on the 3rd of June at Guyana. The series will be contested between Australia, South Africa, and hosts West Indies. The matches will be played at the Providence Stadium in Guyana, Warner Park at St. Kitts and at Bridgetown in Barbados. Barbados will host the final of the tournament as well. While all sides are entering the series on the back of a successful IPL and a World T20, it will be interesting to see how they begin to acclimatize to the slow and humid conditions of the West Indies.

West Indies

After a World T20 that saw the West Indies lift the coveted title, the 50-over format is expected to be yet another fizzle. With the likes of Shannon Gabriel and Darren Bravo back into the fold, the Windies are looking at adversity straight in the face. The big news, however, is the very fact that Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard have been selected on the side, much to the surprise of some of the stars. Jerome Taylor will be the key for the Windies as he will certainly be the leader of the bowling attack. In short, while the home conditions will be immensely important and useful, they will face quality opposition in the form of South Africa and Australia.

Squad: Jason Holder (C), Denesh Ramdin (WK), Jerome Taylor, Kieron Pollard, Andre Fletcher, Marlon Samuels, Ashley Nurse, Sunil Narine, Shannon Gabriel, Johnson Charles, Jonathan Carter, Darren Bravo, Carlos Brathwaite, Suleiman Benn

Also read – It’s always nice to have competition: Mitchell Marsh


Following a disastrous World T20 campaign, the Aussies will be welcoming back some of their old stars. Mitchell Starc, who missed the world T20 via injury, and John Hastings, who missed a portion of the IPL, will be hoping for a fresh start in the Caribbean. 34-year old George Bailey will also return to the fold as will Nathan Lyon and Scot Boland. The plethora of stars on the show makes the Aussies look almost invincible on paper. However, as they say, cricket is a funny game, and anything can happen.

Squad: Steve Smith (C), Matthew Wade (WK), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, John Hastings, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Marsh, Adam Zampa, John Hastings, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Hazelwood, Aaron Finch, Scot Boland, George Bailey

Also read – ICC Champions Trophy 2017 schedule announced

South Africa

If there was any team that needed an overhaul at this stage, it was South Africa. A horrific performance in the World T20 saw many questions their claim to be a superpower that they are. That overhaul has come in the form of Tabraiz Shamsi. However, the Proteas will be motivated by the form of their skipper AB de Villiers. The latter has been in fine form in the IPL. However, whether he translates it on the international stage remains to be seen. Chris Morris will most certainly be the man to watch out for as the Proteas aim to stake their claim as a superpower in the world today.

Squad: AB de Villiers (C),Quinton de Kock (WK), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Kyle Abbott, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Chris Morris, Morne Morkel, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw


June 3rd: West Indies v South Africa; Guyana

June 5th: Australia v West Indies; Guyana

June 7th: South Africa v Australia; Guyana

June 11th: Australia v South Africa; St. Kitts

June 13th: West Indies v Australia; St. Kitts

June 15th: South Africa v West Indies; St. Kitts

June 19th: Australia v South Africa; Barbados

June 21st: West Indies v Australia; Barbados

June 24th: South Africa v West Indies; Barbados

June 26th: Final; Barbados