Twitter Reactions: Sheldon Jackson's memorable ton helps Saurashtra overpower Maharashtra in the Vijay Hazare Trophy final

Ruturaj Gaikwad's third consecutive ton in the competition went in vain as Saurashtra claimed a memorable victory in the finale.

View : 1.8K

3 Min Read

Saurashtra Team
Saurashtra Team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Saurashtra defeated rivals Maharashtra in an epic finale to become the 2022 Vijay Hazare Champions at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Sheldon Jackson's majestic ton was the difference on the day as Maharashtra skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad's valiant century in the first innings went in vain. Jaydev Unadkat's side got home in a canter chasing Maharashtra's 248 runs.

Chasing a par total on a tricky surface, Saurashtra made a sedated start as the opening pair of Sheldon Jackson, and Harvik Desai took their time in the initial overs. Jackson, who was released by Kolkata Knight Riders ahead of the IPL mini-auction, cut loose after getting his eye in. The indomitable pair added 125 runs for the opening stand, putting their side into a commanding position in the chase.

However, Maharashtra sniffed an opening after getting rid of Harvik Desai and Jay Gohil, thanks to Mukesh Choudhary's brilliant double wicket 27th over. Meanwhile, the former KKR batter continued to milk runs from one end, registering a memorable ton as Saurashtra kept losing wickets from the other end.

The game was in the balance before Chirag Jani chipped in with a sublime cameo to go along with his hat-trick in the first innings to put his side ahead in the chase. Jackson was in total control from the other end, guiding his side to a historic Vijay Hazare Trophy triumph.

Earlier in the match, Saurashtra skipper Jaydev Unadkat won the toss and elected to bowl first in the summit clash. Maharashtra were rocked early in the final after losing Pavan Shah cheaply. However, the in-form skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad dug deep along with SS Bachhav to consolidate for Maharashtra after that early setback. 

Bachhav's dismissal, followed by Ankit Bawne's departure made Gaikwad put his foot on the accelerator and he did that in some style, registering his third consecutive century in the tournament, sending a strong message to the Indian selectors. His record-breaking stay at the crease was cut short by an unfortunate run-out as Maharashtra's innings eventually fizzled out for a par total of 248 runs despite their skipper's heroics with the bat.

Chirag Jani was the pick of the bowlers for Saurashtra, with three scalps to his name, which came in the form of a memorable hat-trick, in his ten overs. Meanwhile, his skipper, Jaydev Unadkat, became the leading wicket-tacker of this year's tournament after grabbing his 19th wicket of the campaign in an impressive bowling display in the finale.

Here is how Twitter reacted to Saurashtra's memorable triumph in front of their home crowd in Ahmedabad:

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store