Twitter Reactions: India extend their dominance over West Indies with a thumping 68-run win

Twitter Reactions: India extend their dominance over West Indies with a thumping 68-run win

Skipper Rohit Sharma and Dinesh Karthik were the chief contributors for team India with the bat.

Ravi Bishnoi with his Teammates
Ravi Bishnoi with his Teammates. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Team India completed an easy victory over the home team West Indies during the first T20I encounter played at the Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad on July 29 (Friday). The Men in Blue were a better side as compared to their opponents in all three departments of the game as they have now gained a lead in the five-match T20I series.

West Indies skipper Nicholas Pooran won the toss and opted to have a field first. His decision somewhat proved right as the Men in Maroon scalped two big wickets of Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer within the field restrictions, but the visitors were also scoring at a brisk pace.

Skipper Rohit Sharma along with Rishabh Pant stitched a crucial partnership for their team, but the home side kept chipping away with regular wickets. Rohit completed his well-deserved fifty and was looking good for a century but pacer Jason Holder got the better of him.

After the end of 16 overs, the visitors only managed to score 138 runs and lost six wickets. It looked like the Men in Blue might end up with a score of around 170 in their allotted 20 overs. However, Dinesh Karthik had some other plans as the batter smoked 41 runs off just 19 balls with Ravichandran Ashwin (13 runs) playing the supporting role. As a result, the visitors finished on 190 runs in their 20 overs quota.

None of the West Indies batters capitalized on the start they got

Chasing a big score of 191 runs, several Men in Maroon batters including Kyle Mayers (15 runs), Shamarh Brooks (20 runs), skipper Nicholas Pooran (18 runs), Rovman Powell (14 runs) and Shimron Hetmyer (14 runs) got starts in their innings, but none of them managed to post a big score for their team.

Indian bowlers were exceptional with the ball as most of them got wickets for their team. Spinners Ashwin and Ravi Bishnoi were exceptional will the ball as they got two wickets each for their side. Pacer Arshdeep Singh also scalped two wickets, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jadeja got one wicket each as team India clinched the first encounter by 68 runs.

Meanwhile here are some Twitter reactions: