Twitter Reactions: Madhya Pradesh defeat heavyweights Mumbai to win their first ever Ranji Trophy title

Twitter Reactions: Madhya Pradesh defeat heavyweights Mumbai to win their first ever Ranji Trophy title

MP won the match by six wickets.

Ranji Trophy 2022 Champions
Ranji Trophy 2022 Champions.(Photo Source: Twitter)

Madhya Pradesh (MP) scripted history and clinched their first-ever Ranji Trophy title after thrashing the 41-time champions Mumbai in the season finale. Led by Aditya Shrivastava, MP defeated Mumbai by six wickets at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.

Mumbai batted well in their first innings after they scored 374 runs. However, three MP batters including Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, and Rajat Patidar stroked excellent hundreds to help their side post 536 in the first innings. In reply, lots of Mumbai batters got starts in their second innings but none of them managed to convert it to a big total as the domestic heavyweights surrendered at 269 runs in their second innings.

Rajat Patidar hit the winning runs for MP

Talented batter Rajat Patidar, hit the winning runs as his side went on to chase a 108-run target on Day 5 of the final. Mumbai tried to get some momentum as they scalped the wicket of opener Yash Dubey on a score of one. However, the other opener Himanshu Mantri (37 runs), Shubham Sharma (30 runs), and Rajat Patidar (30 runs) ensured that MP never looked troubled in the chase. As a result, their side won their first-ever title in Ranji Trophy. Shubham Sharma was adjudged player of the match for his excellent performance with the bat in the finals.

Madhya Pradesh players celebrated in front of the whole crowd at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium with their coach Chandrakant Pandit leading the team huddle. To note, it was Pandit who led MP to its first final of the Ranji Trophy in the 1989-90 edition. However, their team lost to Karnataka in the title clash. He will be relieved that MP won the title under his management after 23 years.

Meanwhile, Mumbai star batter Sarfaraz Khan was adjudged player of the tournament for his spectacular knocks throughout the tournament. The right-handed batter scored 982 runs in the season and has grabbed the attention of several experts and pundits.

Meanwhile, here are some Twitter reactions: