Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20: Round 10 – Round Up

Gopal was the star with the ball for Karnataka.

Shreyas Gopal
Shreyas Gopal. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Monday majorly witnessed Round 10 matches getting underway in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 season. Some of the previous washed out matches were also rescheduled for today and most importantly, only 1 out of the 12 matches scheduled for the day had no result due to the rain. The game between Madhya Pradesh and Bengal had to be called off agonisingly.

MP had posted 223 runs after batting first and their opponents had batted for 18 overs when the rain started. They needed only a couple more overs to get the result but the rain never relented and the umpires had to call off the game. Bengal were the favourites to win the game no doubt and MP will feel they got out of the jail in the end.


Elite Group A and B

Karanataka continued their glory run this season as they went past Andhra comfortably. After being put in to bat first, the Manish Pandey-led side saw its skipper hitting a half-century. While all the other got starts, none of them crossed the 50-run mark. But their efforts ensured that Karanataka posted 278 runs on the board for the loss of seven wickets after 50 overs.

In response, Andhra batsmen never looked settled and apart from Prasanth Kumar who scored 78 runs off 104 deliveries, no one delivered when it mattered the most. They were bundled out for 225 runs in the 47th over with Shreyas Gopal turning out to be a star of the day for Karnataka. He returned with the figures of 4/48 in his 10-over spell and was well supported by other bowlers as well.

As far as the other matches of the group are concerned, Odisha went past Maharashtra while Uttar Pradesh thumped Baroda by seven wickets. Chhattisgarh stunned Saurashtra this time defending 246 runs comfortably even as Hyderabad defeated Goa as expected.

Brief Scores

Maharashtra vs Odisha (Round 7)

Maharashtra: 259/8 after 50 overs (R Tripathi 69, K Jadhav 62; S Pradhan 3/50)

Odisha: 260/7 after 49.1 overs (S Senapati 119*; A Kazi 2/45)

Result: Odisha won by three wickets

Himachal Pradesh vs Vidarbha (Round 7)

Vidarbha: 183/10 after 41.4 overs (G Satish 67; R Dhawan 4/35)

Himachal Pradesh: 184/4 after 38.4 overs (P Chopra 82; Y Thakur 2/21)

Result: Himachal Pradesh won by six wickets

Baroda vs Uttar Pradesh (Round 2)

Baroda: 212/6 after 50 overs (V Solanki 58, Y Pathan 55; A Rajpoot 3/43)

Uttar Pradesh: 213/3 after 47.4 overs (A Nath 75*, S Singh 62; B Bhatt 1/36)

Result: UP won by seven wickets

Hyderabad vs Goa (Round 2)

Goa: 122/10 after 37.4 overs (A Desai 55; B Sandeep 4/13, M Siraj 4/20)

Hyderabad: 126/5 after 22.2 overs (T Agarwal 66*; H Parab 1/21)

Result: Hyderabad won by five wickets

Andhra vs Karnataka (Round 2)

Karnataka: 278/7 after 50 overs (M Pandey 50; A Hebbar 2/27)

Andhra: 225/10 after 46.5 overs (P Kumar 78; S Gopal 4/48)

Result: Karnataka won by 53 runs

Chhattisgarh vs Saurashtra (Round 8)

Chhattisgarh: 246/8 after 47 overs (A Khare 53; K Patel 3/47)

Saurashtra: 181/10 after 47.3 overs (S Jackson 75; S Ruikar 5/32)

Result: Chhattisgarh won by 65 runs.

Elite Group C (Round 10)

Brief Scores

Madhya Pradesh vs Bengal

MP: 223/10 after 47.1 overs (Y Dubey 106; M Tiwary 2/23)

Bengal: 83/2 after 18 overs (S Goswami 37*; S Jain 1/20)

No Result

Railways vs Gujarat

Railways: 231/10 after 49.2 overs (P Singh 76; P Chawla 4/46)

Gujarat: 127/1 after 25.1 overs (P Patel 59, P Panchal 51*; S Singh 1/28)

Result: Gujarat won by 43 runs (VJD Method)

Jammu and Kashmir vs Bihar

J&K: 326/6 after 50 overs (S Khajuria 127; V Kumar 2/73)

Bihar: 128/4 after 30.2 overs (B Kumar 42*; P Rasool 3/22)

Result: J&K won by 65 runs (VJD Method)

Plate Group (Round 10)

Brief Scores

Uttarakhand vs Arunachal Pradesh

AP: 199/10 after 48.4 overs (R Dalal 95; P Chamoli 4/31)

Uttarakhand: 202/2 after 23.2 overs (K Kaushal 86, U Chand 87; S Seth 1/21)

Result: Uttarakhand won by 8 wickets.

Assam vs Manipur

Assam: 255/7 after 50 overs (G Sharma 88; R Singh 4/60)

Manipur: 75/10 after 24.4 overs (J Singh 22; P Das 5/5, R Alam 5/18)

Result: Assam won by 180 runs

Puducherry vs Chandigarh

Chandigarh: 152 after 45.3 overs (J Sohi 36; S Udeshi 3/29)

Puducherry: 153/2 after 26 overs (S Karthik 70*; A Azad 1/23)

Result: Puducherry won by 8 wickets