Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Round 7: Round-up

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Round 7: Round-up

Parvez Rasool was highly impressive with the bat.

Parvez Rasool
Parvez Rasool. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Both the matches that were scheduled to be played in Vadodara got washed out in Round 7 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. However, the remaining three games played in Jaipur went along smoothly. There weren’t any interruptions in any of these matches and a full game of cricket was possible.

Jammu & Kashmir brought out yet another terrific performance in the tournament. This time, it was the turn of the Railways team to get stunned. After they were put in to bat first, Railways got to 285/6 in 50 overs. Dinesh Mor and skipper AN Ghosh made contributions of 70 and 64 runs respectively.

It was quite an easy chase for Jammu & Kashmir with Parvez Rasool leading from the front. He remained unbeaten on 118 off 112 balls while the others played their part as well. The target was chased down with 5 balls and 4 wickets to spare.

It was a low-scoring affair in the game between Bihar and Gujarat. A combined effort from the bowlers ensured that Bihar was bowled out for just 126 runs. Some of the batsmen got starts but couldn’t capitalize. The chase was a cakewalk for Parthiv Patel and his men as they got to the target within 20 overs. They lost a few wickets in a quest to play aggressive cricket.

A Raman completely dominated the proceedings in the game between West Bengal and Rajasthan. He registered a brilliant unbeaten 122 in the chase. This helped the side get past the target of 266 runs with an over to spare. For Rajasthan, Mahipal Lomror impressed with a well-made 79. With this victory, West Bengal added another four points to their tally in this edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Scores of Round 7 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20.

Railways vs Jammu & Kashmir – Elite Group C

RLYS: 285/6 in 50 overs (Dinesh Mor 70, AN Ghosh 64, Umar Nazir 3/53)

JK: 287/6 in 49.1 overs (Parvez Rasool 118*, SS Pundir 38, H Sangwan 3/66) – Jammu & Kashmir won by 4 wickets.

Bihar vs Gujarat – Elite Group C

BIH: 126/10 in 42.2 overs (Sachin K Singh 44*, Babul Kumar 27, TR Patel 2/19)

GUJ: 128/3 in 19.1 overs (Priyank Panchal 40, Axar Patel 27*, Ashutosh Aman 1/24) – Gujarat won by 7 wickets.

Bengal vs Rajasthan – Elite Group C

RAJ: 265/4 in 50 overs (Mahipal Lomror 79, AR Gupta 56, A Nandi 2/32)

BEN: 266/5 in 49 overs (A Raman 122*, Abhimanyu Easwaran 66, Ravi Bishnoi 3/49) – Bengal won by 5 wickets.

Maharastra vs Uttar Pradesh (Elite Group B) Match abandoned without a ball bowled.

Odisha vs Punjab (Elite Group B) Match abandoned without a ball bowled.