Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Round 8: Round-up

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Round 8: Round-up

Murali Vijay scored 117 in Tamil Nadu's eight-wicket win over J&K.

Murali Vijay Essex-Cricket
Murali Vijay. (Photo Source: Twitter)

On Friday, the Vijay Hazare Trophy games in Alur and Dehradun were affected by the rain. Two Round-8 matches were affected by the downpour and similar was the case with some of the games that were rescheduled. Overall, five matches on the day were washed out either due to rain or due to wet outfield.

Brakes were applied on Jammu & Kashmir’s brilliant run in the tournament in Round-8. Against Tamil Nadu, the side put up 238 runs on the board in 50 overs. While Qamran Iqbal, Shubham Pundir and Abdul Samad scored half-centuries, no one else delivered for the team. With the help of the brilliant century from Murali Vijay and a terrific knock from Baba Aparajith, Tamil Nadu chased the target down comfortably.

Krunal Pandya comes up with a good bowling performance

It was a high-scoring fixture between Madhya Pradesh and Services. With his knock of 130 runs, skipper Naman Ojha steered MP to 282/7. However, this target was easily chased down by Services after twin centuries from Ravi Chauhan and Rahul Singh. In another game between Tripura and Rajasthan, the former managed to get over the line after Bishal Ghosh alone carried the entire burden of the batting line up. Despite the efforts from Mahipal Lomror, Rajasthan lost by 47 runs.

Despite the efforts of Krunal Pandya who picked a four-wicket haul in the shortened encounter against Delhi, his side Baroda lost the game by 10 runs. Also, Jayant Yadav performed well in the match between Odisha and Haryana. He and Sumit Kumar helped the side comfortably get over the line in this match. Furthermore, in a reduced 20-over game, Chandigarh managed to upset Assam with a good performance.

Scores of Round 8 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20:

Tamil Nadu vs Jammu & Kashmir – Elite Group C

JK: 238/9 in 50 overs (Qamran Iqbal 67, Shubham Pundir 66, Sai Kishore 2/17)

TN: 239/2 in 48 overs (Murali Vijay 117, Baba Aparajith 86*, Parvez Rasool 1/39) – Tamil Nadu won by 8 wickets

Madhya Pradesh vs Services – Elite Group C

MP: 282/7 in 50 overs (Naman Ojha 130, Anand Bais 61, Diwesh Pathania 4/50)

SER: 283/3 in 47.1 overs (Ravi Chauhan 118, Rahul Singh 109, Ishwar Pandey 1/43) – Services won by 7 wickets

Tripura vs Rajasthan – Elite Group C

TRI: 285/8 in 50 overs (Bishal Ghosh 128, Tanmay Mishra 56, Aniket Choudhary 2/54)

RAJ: 238/10 in 47 overs (Mahipal Lomror 71, Menaria 38, Ajoy Sarkar 3/58) – Tripura won by 47 runs

Odisha vs Haryana – Elite Group A and B

ODSA: 207/9 in 46 overs (G Poddar 64, Sandeep Pattnaik 44, Harshal Patel 3/56)

HAR: 208/6in 43.5 overs (Jayant Yadav 67, Sumit Kumar 64*, Rajesh Mohanty 2/37) – Haryana won by 4 wickets (Match reduced to 46 overs per side)

Delhi vs Baroda – Elite Group A and B

DEL: 148/10 in 37.4 overs (Nitish Rana 27, Anj Rawat 21, Krunal Pandya 4/34)

BRD: 128/10 in 33.2 overs (Krunal Pandya 20, K Devdhar 20, Navdeep Saini 3/24) – Delhi won by 10 runs (VJD Method – Match reduced to 38 overs per side)

Assam vs Chandigarh – Plate Group

CDG: 166/7 in 20 overs (Preet Kamal 34, Jaskaranveer Singh 28*, Pritam Das 3/26)

ASM: 145/10 in 19.5 overs (Purkayastha 32, Abu Nechim 31, Bipul Sharma 3/14) – Chandigarh won by 21 runs (Match reduced to 20 overs per side)

Puducherry vs Nagaland – Plate Group

NGL: 24/2 in 6.4 overs (Aosashi Longchar 12, S Mundhe 4*, Vinay Kumar 1/11) – No result due to rain

Uttarakhand vs Mizoram – Match abandoned due to wet outfield

Chattisgarh vs Goa – Match abandoned due to wet outfield

Mumbai vs Hyderabad – Match abandoned due to wet outfield

Haryana vs Uttar Pradesh – Match abandoned due to wet outfield