Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Round 9: Round-up

Ambati Rayudu scored an impressive quickfire fifty for Hyderabad against Jharkhand but it was not enough for his side.

Ambati Rayudu. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

Another day of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 was affected due to rain. As many as four games were affected by rain with two of them failing to yield any result. Defending champions Mumbai’s game against Andhra ended with no result after 8.2 overs. Andhra were reeling at 51 for 2 when the heaven gates opened and ended any chance of game.

On the other hand, the match between last editions runners-up Delhi and Maharashtra was washed out without a ball being bowled. In other games, Arunachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Meghalaya and Jharkhand won their games. Arunachal Pradesh beat Sikkim while Haryana, Punjab, Meghalaya and Jharkhand got the better of Baroda, Vidarbha, Manipur and Hyderabad respectively.


Ambati Rayudu impresses but effort in vain:

Ambati Rayudu scored an impressive quickfire fifty for Hyderabad against Jharkhand but it was not enough for his side. Rayudu slammed 69 from 54 balls with the help of 3 fours and 4 sixes but Hyderabad only managed a modest 192 for 7 in an innings which was reduced to 34-over per side. In reply, Jharkhand chased down the total with one ball remaining.

The other notable performers from the day were Samarth Seth and Sumit Kumar. Arunachal Pradesh’s Seth scored 155 against Sikkim while Haryana’s Sumit Kumar overshadowed his illustrious teammates like Yuzvendra Chahal and Amit Mishra to star with the ball against Baroda. Sumit picked up 5 wickets for just 14 runs as Haryana successfully defended 217.

Scores of Round 8 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20:

Arunachal Pradesh vs Sikkim – Plate

Sikkim 268/7 in 50 overs (Yashpal Singh 71, Asish Thapa 66, Akhilesh Sahani 2/47)

Arunachal Pradesh 272/2 in 45.4 overs (Samarth Seth 155, Rahul Dalal 64, Padam Limboo 1/28) – Arunachal Pradesh won by eight wickets.

Baroda vs Haryana – Elite Group A and B

Haryana 217/10 in 49.1 overs (Sumit Kumar 58, Krunal Pandya 3/46)

Baroda 159/10 in 40.2 over (Aditya Waghmode 65, Sumit Kumar 5/14) – Haryana won by 58 runs.

Delhi vs Maharashtra – Elite Group A and B

Match abandoned without a ball being bowled

Punjab vs Vidarbha – Elite Group A and B

Vidarbha 155/10 in 43.1 overs (Faiz Fazal 72, Karan Kaila 4/32)

Punjab 158/3 in 46.2 overs (Gurkeerat Mann 51*, Anmolpreet Singh 42*, Akshay Wakhare 2/29) – Punjab won by seven wickets.

Meghalaya vs Manipur – Plate

Manipur 90/10 in 25.1 overs (Match reduced to 40 overs due to rain) (Ahmed Shah 24, Sanjay Yadav 3/19)

Meghalaya 94/7 in 18.4 overs (Puneet Bisht 27, Bishworjit Konthoujam 3/30) – Meghalaya won by three wickets.

Hyderabad vs Jharkhand – Elite Group A and B

Hyderabad 192/7 in 34 overs (overs reduced due to rain) (Ambati Rayudu 69, Anukul Roy 2/30)

Jharkhand 193/4 in 33.4 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 61*, Kumar Deobrat 56, Chama V Milind 2/25) – Jharkhand won by 6 wickets.

Mumbai vs Andhra – Elite Group A and B

Andhra 51/2 in 8.2 overs – No result due to rain.