Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019: Dinesh Karthik, Ravi Ashwin and Vijay Shankar in Tamil Nadu probables

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019: Dinesh Karthik, Ravi Ashwin and Vijay Shankar in Tamil Nadu probables

The team will be captained by Karthik.

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin of India. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

Indian spinner Ravi Ashwin, all-rounder Vijay Shankar and keeper Dinesh Karthik have been named in the Tamil Nadu probables for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy. The domestic one-day tournament in India is set to get underway later this month. In fact, the 34-year-old Karthik has been appointed as the skipper of the team. Former Tamil Nadu all-rounder D Vasu is their coach.

Karthik found himself in a bit of trouble after he was seen attending a match in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) in Trinidad. He was slapped with a show-cause notice by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) after which he tendered an unconditional apology. As far as Shankar is concerned, he played a few games in the 2019 TNPL after recovering from the toe injury.

Coming to Ashwin, he was a part of the national squad for the two-match series in the West Indies. But he ended up warming the benches as Ravindra Jadeja was preferred ahead of him. The Tamil Nadu probables also consists of the likes of Washington Sundar, who was a part of the T20I series in the Caribbean and will now play the T20I series at home against the visiting South African team.

Murali Vijay included

Out-of-favour India batsmen Abhinav Mukund and Murali Vijay made their way into the list as well. Vijay is a part of the Somerset team for it’s last three matches in the County Championship. He last played Test cricket for India in Australia. This will be his second stint in England’s domestic circuit after he featured for Essex last season and even notched a century on his maiden appearance.

In the probables’ list, C Hari Nishaanth, who impressed in the TNPL, was included. The list of players was announced in a press release from the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA).

Here are the probables

K Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Abhinav Mukund, N Jagadeesan, B Aparajith, R Ashwin, MS Washington Sundar, V Ganga Sridhar Raju, C Hari Nishaanth, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, S Lokeshwar, K Mukunth, M Vijay, T Natarajan, K Vignesh, M Mohammed, Abhishek Tanwar, J Kousik, R Sai Kishore, M Siddharth and M Ashwin.

Watch: All-time right-handers ODI XI