Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019: Shreyas Iyer to lead to Mumbai, Suryakumar Yadav named as vice-captain

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019: Shreyas Iyer to lead to Mumbai, Suryakumar Yadav named as vice-captain

Shreyas Iyer is currently the member of the Indian squad, which is playing T20I series against South Africa.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer of India. (Photo by Richard Huggard/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Shreyas Iyer, India’s limited over batsman is currently traveling with the Indian T20I squad to face South Africa in the home series. He recently made a strong comeback in the middle order of the Indian team in the team’s quest to win on the Caribbean land. He had a successful outing to West Indies where he registered two brilliant fifties under his name.

India has been struggling with their middle-order since very long, because of this void, India had to face defeat against New Zealand in the semi-finals of the 2019 World Cup. Shreyas Iyer’s good display with the bat puts him in a good place which can end the search of the Indian team in the middle-order.

Now, after making a strong comeback, the 24-year-old batsman will lead Mumbai in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The tournament is going to kick off from 24 September 2019 and looks like Iyer will be available for the team from the first match as the venue for the Mumbai’s first match is same as that of the last T20I against South Africa.

Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, and Sarfaraz Khan included in the squad

Suryakumar Yadav is back in the squad after being dropped out in the last season. He will be the deputy of Shreyas Iyer in the 50-over the tournament. The hard-hitting short height batsman Sarfaraz Khan is back as well after leaving Mumbai in 2015-16 to join Uttar Pradesh but made his comeback in 2018. According to the rules, he had to serve a one-year cooling-off period to be available for selection.

Shivam Dube is the star attraction in the Mumbai team who had bagged a lucrative IPL deal from Royal Challengers Bangalore. He has done well for India A in recent times and few good performances can see him make a strong case for selection in the national squad for Bangladesh T20I series, starting from November 3.

Mumbai will be without the services of Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane who will be involved in the Test series with the national squad against South Africa. The current champions will face Saurashtra in the opening game later on followed by Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Hyderabad, and Chhattisgarh to defend their title.

Mumbai squad

Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Surya Kumar Yadav (Vice-captain), Jay Bista, Aditya Tare, Sarfaraz Khan, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Eknath Kerkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Shardul Thakur, Siddhesh Lad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Kruthik Hanagawadi, Shashank Attarde.