Virat Kohli named captain of Cricket Australia's Test team of the year

Virat Kohli named captain of Cricket Australia’s Test team of the year

Virat Kohli India News
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: BCCI)

A day after the ICC announced its annual awards and also the team of the year in different formats, Cricket Australia too came up with their Test team of the year and released its team on the CA website which includes as many as 6 changes from the team picked by the game’s governing body. While there was quite an uproar from public after Virat Kohli was left out of the ICC Test team despite having a stupendous run in the longest format of the game of late, CA has not only included Kohli in the team but also made him the captain which also includes the likes of Australian captain Steve Smith.

Smith who missed out narrowly in the ICC Test team of the year being the 12th man quite expectedly found a place in the playing XI but hard-hitting southpaw David Warner who hasn’t had a great year in the longest format has been left out. While the ICC picked the team on the basis of performances between September 2015 to September 2016, came up with a team based on performances in the calendar year.

Indian spin ace Ravichandran Ashwin who was chosen as the ICC Cricketer of the Year and also the Test cricketer of the year automatically found a place in the team and veteran Sri Lankan spinner Rangana Herath was also included for his impressive performances in the year. Aussie spearhead Mitchell Starc and South African youngster Kagiso Rabada completed the bowling unit.

Pakistan opener Azhar Ali and mainstay of the England batting line-up Joe Root was included as openers followed by Steve Smith and Virat Kohli. Ben Stokes and Jonny Bairstow who had a terrific year was also included but the wicket keeping duties were handed to South Africa’s Quinton de Cock.

Cricket Australia 2016 Test Team of the Year:  

Azhar Ali (Pakistan)

Joe Root (England)

Steve Smith (Australia)

Virat Kohli (India, captain)

Ben Stokes (England)

Jonny Bairstow (England)

Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wk)

Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)

Mitchell Starc (Australia)

Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)