Was Mohammad Rizwan dismissed off a no-ball? Here's what ICC rules state

Was Mohammad Rizwan dismissed off a no-ball? Here’s what ICC rules state

A number of former Australia players were not convinced with the umpire’s decision.

Pat Cummins' ball
Pat Cummins’ ball. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Pakistan’s two-Test series against Australia kicked off at the Gabba, Brisbane, on Thursday and the very first day was marked by controversy. It was about the dismissal of wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan that happened despite bowler Pat Cummins overstepping. Rizwan, who is playing in a Test match after a gap of three years, thanks to the exclusion of former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, was engaged in a rescue effort when the incident happened.

Rizwan came to the crease after Pakistan lost half their side for just 94 after winning the toss and electing to bat. He added 49 valuable runs with the innings’ highest scorer Asad Shafiq. But when the duo looked to have steadied the team much, the 27-year-old keeper-batsman nicked one from pacer Cummins to his opposite number Tim Paine.

The on-field umpires — Richard Kettleborough and Richard Illingworth — referred the decision to third umpire Michael Gough and he gave the ruling in favor of the fielding side although the viewers remained undecided over the landing of Cummins’ foot.

As per the International Cricket Council’s rules, “the bowler’s front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised, behind the popping crease.” The playing conditions also say that if the third umpire does not find enough evidence, the on-field call will prevail.

Former Australia players criticize the decision

A number of former Australia players were not convinced with the umpire’s decision. Former Australia captain Allan Border was one of them. “I’m trying to find something behind (the line) there but I just can’t,” he said while making commentary for Fox Cricket.

“I reckon that’s hard on Pakistan, I think that’s got to be called a no-ball,” former Aussie speedster Brett Lee said on the same channel and he was seconded by another former speedster Jason Gillespie on ABC Radio. Gillespie said it was a no-ball and needed to be recalled.

“I couldn’t see any part of his foot land behind the line,” former Australia captain Ricky Ponting told Channel Seven.

Rizwan took the fight to the opponent’s camp with his counter-attacking 37 off 34 balls and his dismissal pegged the visitors back at a crucial moment. Pakistan were eventually bowled out for 240 by the end of the day with Australia yet to start their innings.