Wasim Akram is pleased to have world-class talent like Zaheer Khan in the T10 League

Wasim Akram is pleased to have world-class talent like Zaheer Khan in the T10 League

Zaheer last played in this year's St Moritz Ice Cricket in February.

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan of India. (Photo by Tom Shaw/Getty Images)

Former India fast bowler Zaheer Khan is the latest star cricketer to join the list of elite names who will feature in this year’s T10 League. The left-arm seamer will join fellow Indians and former international players RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Subramaniam Badrinath and Reetinder Singh Sodhi in the second season of the star-studded tournament. They are among eight-star Indian cricketers who will take part in the T10 League, which gets underway from November 23 in Sharjah.

Zaheer was last seen playing cricket in the St. Moritz Ice Cricket tournament which took place in Switzerland earlier this year. He represented the Palace Diamonds in the two-match tournament, which saw several former India cricketers such as Virender Sehwag, Ajit Agarkar, Joginder Sharma and Romesh Pawar take the field. In 2017, Zak played for the Delhi Daredevils in the 10th edition of the IPL.

Hailed as India’s best ever left-arm pacer, Zaheer tasted success for India in all formats of the game. His most memorable moment came in 2011 where he was instrumental in India’s World Cup victory on home soil, finishing as the joint highest wicket-taker with 21 scalps.

Akram welcomes Zak

Former Pakistan pace bowling legend Wasim Akram took to Twitter to welcome Zaheer Khan into the T10 League, saying, “We are pleased to have with us some world class talent like @ImZaheer and @t10leaguetweets will certainly be more entertaining with the addition of some great cricketers from India. #T10StandsTall #T10League #BusAbDus”

Earlier, Sahji Ul Mulk, chairman of the league, had said in a statement, “I am happy to announce that we have signed up eight Indian players to play in the second season of the tournament. This will encourage players from all over the world to join the T10 League movement and help popularise the 10-over format cricket worldwide in the coming years.”

Former India opener Sehwag was named as the T10 Cricket League brand icon along with other big names such as Pakistan veteran Shahid Afridi and former New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum.

The inaugural season of the tournament was won by Kerala Kings. This edition will see two new teams being added to the tournament, in form of the Karachians and the Northern Warriors. Since Sony has grabbed the broadcasting rights for the next 3 years, the T10 league matches will be telecast live on Sony ESPN in India.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the world of cricket, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.