Watch: Did R Ashwin take the Sean Williams catch clean?

Watch: Did R Ashwin take the Sean Williams catch clean?

Watch: Did R Ashwin take the Sean Williams catch clean?: The incident happened in the 28th over when Indian off spinner Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed Zimbabwe’s Sean Williams caught and bowled. It clearly appeared in the replays that the catch was taken cleanly by R. Ashwin. Ashwin managed to avoid the ball from getting in contact with the ground as he covered it up by getting his fingers underneath it. The crucial partnership between Brendan Taylor and Sean Williams was broken which put brakes on the Zimbabwe batsmen who were comfortably on path of getting something in excess of 300. In the end, other Zimbabwean batsmen faltered and were bowled out in the 48th over for a total of 287 runs.

Though the catch looks clean with replays the umpires did not look convinced initially and went up to the TV umpire for referral. But despite that questions have been raised on the umpires officiating in the match between India and Zimbabwe at the Eden Park, Auckland.

Quick Link : List of teams with highest win percentage in ICC events

While chasing India were in a bothersome situation at 92 for four but an unbeaten 196 run stand between skipper MS Dhoni and Centurion Suresh Raina ensured that  the target was chased down without any further trouble and India registered their 6th straight win as they won the game by 6 wickets.

This is not the first time Sean Williams has been in the middle of a controversial catch. When Zimbabwe played Ireland on 6th March, Sean Williams was adjudged out by the umpire after John Mooney took a controversial catch near the boundary rope. In the end Zimbabwe eventually lost the match closely by five runs.

Watch: Did R Ashwin take the Sean Williams catch clean?