Wayne Parnell earns recall as South Africa announce squad for ODI series against Netherlands

Wayne Parnell last played for South Africa in the 2017 Champions Trophy.

View : 5.9K

2 Min Read

Wayne Parnell of South Africa
Wayne Parnell of the Proteas. (Photo by Carl Fourie/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

In what can be called a surprising decision, all-rounder Wayne Parnell has earned a South Africa call-up after more than four years. Cricket South Africa (CSA) confirmed the same by naming him in the 16-man squad for the three-match ODI series against Netherlands. It will be the first instance of Netherlands playing a full-fledged international series against the Proteas side, from 26 November to 1 December.

Having last played for South Africa in the 2017 Champions Trophy, Parnell signed a Kolpak deal with England county team Worcestershire, effectively ending his international career. However, change in policies and selection system in CSA means Parnell would don the national colours once again. With Parnell being a genuine all-rounder, his return could be a huge advantage with the next T20 World Cup being less than a year away.

We do not take this historic tour of the Netherlands to our shores lightly: CSA Convenor of Selectors

Meanwhile, Keshav Maharaj will lead the 16-man team with many prominent players including regular skipper Temba Bavuma resting for the series. Khaya Zondo, Zubayr Hamza and Ryan Rickelton are the other notable inclusions in the national team. These players have been performing exceptionally well in the domestic circuit and are awarded for the same.

Victor Mpitsang, CSA Convenor of Selectors, has said the Keshav Maharaj-led side would not take the historic home series lightly by any means. “The National Selection Panel and I are excited to give this group of exciting cricketers a good go. These selections are part of our strategy to give opportunities and reward the good work of players in our provincial system,” Mpitsang said in a statement.

“We do not take this historic tour of the Netherlands to our shores lightly. We are keen to showcase the talent that South Africa has and to give opportunities to players who have been patient for a long time and are raring to go,” he added.

South Africa’s squad for the home ODI series against Netherlands: Keshav Maharaj (captain), Daryn Dupavillon, Zubayr Hamza, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store