Who is Tanvir Ahmed the Bangladeshi umpire involved in no ball controversy?
Controversy hit the Bangladesh vs Windies 3rd T20I in Dhaka when the umpire Tanvir Ahmed called a legal delivery no ball.
Updated - Dec 22, 2018 8:28 pm
The Bangladesh vs Windies third T20I was at the centre of discussion in the cricketing universe for a no ball. In the second innings of the game, it was Oshane Thomas bowling the fourth over of the innings and having already bowled a no ball, the umpire called him for overstepping once again. Replays had suggested that he was well behind the line on the previous instance as well but this time Tanvir Ahmed’s call cost Windies a wicket.
The team saw a reply on the big screen or it was indicated to them that Thomas was behind the line. They were all furious and disgusted the skipper Carlos Brathwaite asked for a review. It was a clean catch and if the third umpire could overturn the no ball it had to be given out. The umpires Tanvir Ahmed and Masudur Rahman discussed and referred it to the TV umpire; it was indeed a legal delivery but could it be given out was the question.
The third umpire couldn’t call it a legal delivery and give it out. The fourth umpire got involved, Brathwaite walked up to him at ropes, the coaches were there as well. Windies skipper wasn’t satisfied and we also saw the Match Referee Jeff Crowe walk in. He took the situation under control and made it clear that the no ball will stay.
Since the incident, Taniv has drawn a lot of flak for his decision making and might as well face action after the end of the game if the teams decide to file an official complaint.
That’s the background story here are some facts about Tanvir Ahmed the man in focus:
1. International debut:
Ahmed made his international debut as an international umpire on December 17, 2018, against Windies with the first T20I of the series.
2. Kickstarted umpiring career in 2005
He was born in the capital city of Dhaka on 3rd October 1972. At the age of 33, he officiated as an on-field umpire for the first time in a professional game in 2005 in a List A game.
It took him two years to progress to first-class cricket and then on, he has been featuring regularly in Bangladesh domestic cricket.
3. Integral part of BPL from the first season
The Bangladesh Premier League began in 2012 and Tanvir found himself a place in the Umpires list in its very first season. Since then, he has officiated in 21 BPL games and featured in the final and qualifier 2 of the 2017 edition as the third umpire.
4. Heated argument with Shakib Al Hasan after a poor decision
In a BPL game between Rangpur Riders and Sylhet Super Stars in 2015, Mushfiqur Rahim had clearly picked an outside edge before the ball landed in the keeper’s hands. Tanvir Ahmed, the on-field umpire found no evidence to give it out, which enraged Ranpur skipper Shakib.
He angrily abused the umpire and neither parties backing off from the argument. Shakib was later suspended for one match alongside a 20,000 Taka fine.
5. Controversially walked off during a DPL match
The Dhaka Premier League saw a huge controversy in 2016, once again involving Tanvir. The 46-year-old refused to raise his finger when Raqibul Hasan was not given out off a stumping, which infuriated Abahani Limited captain Tamim Iqbal. Both captain and fans of the club expressed their dissent in the worst possible way, which led to on-field umpires Tanvir and Gazi Sohel walking off.
The match was later postponed as the umpires were “Not in a state of mind” to take the field, as reported by a DPL official to the press back then. Whilst Tamim came out to apologize for his vehement reaction, Abahani coach Khaled Mahmud said the umpires had overreacted and handled the situation very badly.
6. Inducted into ICC International Panel of Umpires
The Dhaka-born umpire was later inducted into the ICC International Panel of Umpires after being in the fraternity for over 13 years in November 2018. His first game as an International umpire was against Windies in the first of three T20I games that took place in Dhaka.
7. First controversial call which hogged him negative limelight
Tanvir partnered Gazi Sohel in the second T20I between Windies and Bangladesh, the same umpiring duo who were involved in the controversy from the DPL game back in 2016. Evin Lewis, in the very first over, misjudged a slower delivery and got the bottom edge of the bat on to the ground. When the Bangladesh players appealed for LBW, he was given out and Lewis furiously went up for a review, only to be deemed not out.