'Whole SL team did a Mushi' - Twitter trolls Sri Lankan team for not knowing DRS rules

‘Whole SL team did a Mushi’ – Twitter trolls Sri Lankan team for not knowing DRS rules

There was a lot of confusion in the middle as Surya had also started to walk off.

Suryakumar Yadav
(Photo Source: Twitter)

The third ODI between India and Sri Lanka is currently in progress in Colombo. Even though the visitors have won the three-match series by winning the first two games, both the teams are fighting it out hard with 10 World Cup Super League points at stake in the dead rubber. Sri Lanka, especially, are looking very much determined and their bowlers are picking up wickets at regular intervals.

However, the hosts players were in for an embarrassment in the 23rd over of the innings when the umpire Kumar Dharmasena adjudged Suryakumar Yadav lbw off Praveen Jayawickrama. The batsman went for a sweep shot off the very first ball of the over only to miss it and for the ball to wrap on the pads.

Soon after the decision was made, Surya decided to challenge it by making the use of the Decision Review System (DRS). Replays confirmed there was no bat involved but it took an eternity for the ball-tracking technology to arrive. And when it came, there was a lot of confusion out in the middle.

Sri Lanka players celebrate despite impact being outside

The ball-tracking showed that the impact was outside the line of stumps with Suryakumar Yadav stretching his leg more than 2.5 metres from the stumps as well. Once the impact is outside, the decision had to be overturned. But the third umpire surprisingly went ahead to see if the ball was hitting the stumps and when it did, Sri Lanka players started celebrating in the middle.

Moreover, Surya also started to walk off thinking that the review has been wasted. However, going by the rules, with the impact being outside, Kumar Dharmasena had to reverse his decision and Sri Lanka’s players were stunned. Probably, they were unaware of the impact being outside rule or they were confused with the third umpire looking for the whole ball-tracking technlogy.

Twitter was left in splits with the incident as they trolled the Dasun Shanaka-led side for celebrating the wicket despite it was clear that the impact was outside.

Here’s how Twitter reacted: