Windies vs India: BCCI announce squads for T20I, ODI and Test series

Pandey and Iyer have made a comeback to the ODI and T20I side.

India. (Photo by Alan Martin/Action Plus via Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket India (BCCI) has announced India’s much-awaited squad for the upcoming West Indies tour. The team is scheduled to play 3 T20Is, as many ODIs and a couple of Test matches on the tour and as expected, the skipper Virat Kohli will lead the side across all the formats. MS Dhoni made himself unavailable for the tour on Saturday and he hasn’t been picked in any of the teams as of now. Rishabh Pant will take over the duty behind the stumps for the first time in a whole series.

Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami, the two bowlers who were exceptional in the World Cup for India, have been rested. India’s bowling attack has got a new fresh look with the likes of Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini and Deepak Chahar being included in the T20I squad. Dinesh Karthik has lost his place from the ODI and T20I squad after a not so great World Cup in England.


For the T20I series, the wrist spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have been rested. Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar and Krunal Pandya are the three spinners for the shortest format with Ravindra Jadeja making a comeback in the T20Is as well. Shikhar Dhawan who got injured midway through the World Cup is fully fit and will play the ODIs and T20Is.

Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer have also made a comeback to the limited-overs side and it looks like they are in the plans going forward.

Saha returns to the Test side

As far as the Test squad is concerned, Wriddhiman Saha has made a comeback to the side after a long injury layoff. Rohit Sharma has also kept his place in the Tests while Prithvi Shaw is yet to recover from his injury and hasn’t been picked for the Tests. Meanwhile, Umesh Yadav has returned to the Test side after being sidelined for the Australia tour and Jasprit Bumrah also returns to play the Tests.

Here are the squads:

T20I series: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.

ODI series: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini.

Test series: Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK) Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.