Women's World Cup 2022: South Africa's Dane van Niekerk ruled out of the tournament

Women’s World Cup 2022: South Africa’s Dane van Niekerk ruled out of the tournament

Dan van Niekerk would need around 12 weeks to recover from her injury.

Dane van Niekerk
Dane van Niekerk of South Africa. (Photo by Simon West/Action Plus via Getty Images)

The skipper of the South African Women’s side, Dane van Niekerk has been ruled out of action for three months after suffering an ankle fracture. This will mean that Niekerk will also not take part in the 2022 Women’s World Cup.

South Africa have named a 21-member squad for the training camp to prepare for the upcoming series against the West Indies side that will commence on 28th January 2022.

Also, Tshegofatso Gaetsewe, the team doctor of the South African side revealed that Niekerk does not require surgery at present but she needs to be monitored. Gatesewe also added that Niekerk would need around 12 weeks to recover from her injury.

“The injury is a result of an accidental slip on a wet surface at home. As things stand, she doesn’t require surgery but will be monitored closely. It’s a stable fracture with minimal displacement and her recovery timeline is no less than 12 weeks,” said Gaetsewe as quoted by cricket.co.za.

South Africa will miss Dane van Niekerk’s leadership: SA Convenor of Selectors

Also, the Convenor of Selectors of the South African side, Clinton du Preez said that the unavailability of Dane van Niekerk is a massive loss for the country. Adding that the South African side will miss Niekerk’s leadership skills, du Preez concluded by stating that she hopes that Niekerk can return back to the national setup soon.

“Losing Dané is massive for the team and the country, we will sorely miss her leadership and all-round cricket abilities. I would like to wish her all the best with her recovery and a smooth and seamless return to the national team. This brings about an opportunity for another player within the pipeline,” said Clinton du Preez about Dane van Niekerk.

Here is the complete South African squad

Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez , Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas , Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Andrie Steyn, Chloe Tryon, Delmari Tucker, Laura Wolvaardt