World Cup 2015 Zimbabwe vs Ireland preview;Ireland's fate hangs in balance

World Cup 2015 Group B Match 30 Zimbabwe vs Ireland preview;Ireland's fate hangs in balance

World Cup 2015 Group B Match 30 Zimbabwe vs Ireland preview;Ireland’s fate hangs in balance:

Date: 7 March 2015        Time: 0900 IST
Venue: Hobart


Ireland has had a wonderful World Cup 2015 campaign. They have lived up to their reputation of giant killers, they did that against West Indies, and as expected, pulled off 21-run against UAE. However, their previous match against South Africa, they suffered a severe setback in form of a 201-run loss, proved that lack of pace in their bowling attack remains a concern. Once South Africa scored above 400, and Ireland lost three wickets for some 20-odd runs, the outcome was a foregone conclusion despite their knack of chasing down big total.

Quick Link : List of batsmen with highest average while chasing in ODIs

They will keep a watch at the outcome of Pakistan’s match against South Africa because that can make their next match against Pakistan very interesting.


The last time these two teams faced each other in a World Cup – at Jamaica in 2007 – the match ended in a thrilling tie.
With just one win in four matches, their chances of making the quarter finals are very slim. A win for them might not make a big difference, but since Ireland is due to face Pakistan and India, the equation might come down to their last league game. Captaining them this time around will be Brendan Taylor, since Elton Chigumbura suffered a third grade quadriceps tear on Sunday, and is set to be out for a bit.

Zimbabwe can certainly spoil the game of Ireland if they win against them because Ireland will face Pakistan in their next match and if Pakistan loses the match against South Africa and Ireland win against Zimbabwe, the Ireland vs Pakistan match turns into virtual knockout match.

Last 5 ODIs:
Ireland: L W W NR L
Zimbabwe: L L L L L

Possible Playing XI:
Ireland: John Mooney, Andy McBrine, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, William Porterfield (C), Kevin O’Brien, Paul Stirling, Niall O’Brien , Max Sorenson, Gary Wilson (wk), Andy Balbirnie

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva (wk), Craig Ervine, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri,Tawanda Mupariwa, Tinashe Panyangara, Brendan Taylor (c), Prosper Utseya, Sean Williams,Tendai Chatara.