World Cup match 8 Review: UAE vs Zimbabwe; Zimbabwe win

World Cup match 8 Review: UAE vs Zimbabwe; Zimbabwe win

World Cup match 8 Review: UAE vs Zimbabwe; Zimbabwe win:

Zimbabwe won the toss and chose to bowl first at the Saxton Oval in Nelson. And they were rewarded with an early wicket when Amjad Ali was caught by Ervine off Chatara for 7. But after that UAE was 40/2, Krishna Chandran (34) and Khurram Khan (45) started a partnership of 82 runs to save halt any further decline. The run rate was going steady when both of them departed within 8 runs of each other.

But the UAE got a perfect partnership again when keeper Swapnil Patil (32) and Shaiman Anwar (67) came together and stitched another 82 runs. UAE ended their 50 overs with 285 runs on the board. Tendai Chatara took 42/3 and Solomon Mire took 39/2 to help Zimbabwe restrict UAE for fewer than 300.

Zimbabwe’s batting had a steady start with Sikandar Raza (46) and Regis Chakabva (35) scored 64 runs in 12 overs before Raza was out to Mohammad Tauqir, the UAE captain. Chakabva then followed Raza back to the pavilion hit wicket for 35. Taylor (47) tried to roatte the strike along with Sean Williams who scored a match winning 76 not out to take Zimbabwe home along with Craig Ervine who made 42 of just 32 balls to take the pressure off from the Zimbabwe lower order. In the end, the UAE bowling was not penetrative enough to bowl out Zimbabwe and Zimbabwe won their first match in World cup 2015 by 4 wickets and 14 balls remaining.

The match showed that UAE have the promise in their batting with the likes of Swapnil Patil, Khurram Khan, Berenger and Shaiman Anwar, they just need to apply themselves and stay at the crease to ensure UAE makes a big score while batting first. In the bowling department, Captain Tauqir and opening bowler Amjad Javed showed lots of promise to trouble the best out there.

Sean Williams was awarded the Man of the match for his important and match winning innings of 76 not out.

Brief Scores:
UAE 285/7 (S Anwar 67, K Khan 45; T Chatara 42/3) lost to Zimbabwe 286/6 48 overs (S Williams 76*, B Taylor 47; M Tauqir 51/2) by 4 wickets.