World Test Championship Winners & Runners List

Team India's bid to end their drought in ICC events ended in heartbreak after the Asian outfit were brushed aside by Kane Williamson's New Zealand in the final of the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship (WTC). While Rohit Sharma has been handed a chance to redeem that loss against Australia in the upcoming WTC final at The Oval, Pat Cummins will be eyeing his maiden ICC honour as the skipper.

New Zealand's Kane Williamson went into the history books after becoming the first captain to triumph in the WTC final in 2021 in Southampton. Kiwi pacer Kyle Jamieson became the first player to be named the Player of the Match in a WTC final after his all-around heroics secured an eight-wicket victory for the Kiwis.

Even though England have failed to grab the ticket to the WTC final on both occasions so far finishing at third and fourth positions in 2019-2021 and 2021-2023 cycles, respectively on the WTC Points Table, their former skipper Joe Root is the leading run-scorer in WTC matches. He has accumulated 3575 runs in 42 matches with 11 centuries, the most in the competition. Australian batting ace Marnus Labuschagne is in second place with 3184 runs in just 32 outings and ten centuries to his name.

Meanwhile, it is a much more intense battle among the leading wicket-takers in the competition, with spinners claiming the top two positions in the list. Australian spinner Nathan Lyon finds himself at the top of the wicket-takers column with 139 wickets in 33 matches. Hot on his tail is veteran Indian offie Ravichandran Ashwin, who has accounted for 132 wickets in six fewer matches than Lyon. Pat Cummins, Stuart Broad and Tim Southee conclude the list. 

WTC Winners & Runners List (2019-2023)

Year Winner Won by Runner Up Venue
2021-23 Australia  209 Runs India Kennington Oval, London
2019-21 New Zealand 8 Wickets India Southampton

WTC Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match

Year Winner Captain Man of the Match
2021-23 Australia Pat Cummins Travis Head
2019-21 New Zealand Kane Williamson Kyle Jamieson

Most Wins in World Test Championship (WTC)

WTC Team WTC Trophy WTC Winner
New Zealand 1 time 2019-21
Australia  1 time 2021-23

Most Runs in World Test Championship (WTC)

Player Team Mat Runs HS BF SR 100s 50s
Joe Root ENG 42 3575 228 6186 57.79 11 14
Marnus Labuschagne AUS 33 3251 215 6016 54.03 10 14
Steven Smith AUS 33 2748 211 5456 50.36 8 13
Babar Azam PAK 24 2459 196 4326 56.84 8 15
Ben Stokes ENG 35 2305 176 3845 59.94 6 10

Most Wickets in World Test Championship (WTC)

Player Team Mat Wkts Avg Eco 4w 5w 10w
Nathan Lyon AUS 34 142 28.56 2.67 6 9 2
Ravichandran Ashwin IND 27 132 20.03 2.55 8 6 -
Pat Cummins AUS 30 127 21.53 2.71 6 4 -
Stuart Broad ENG 28 112 23.25 2.96 6 3 1
Tim Southee NZ 24 106 26.15 2.82 6 6 -

*Last Updated on 11th June 2023