Yuvraj Singh and Sachin Tendulkar arrive in Raipur for Road Safety World Series

Yuvraj Singh and Sachin Tendulkar arrive in Raipur for Road Safety World Series

India Legends will play their first match against Bangladesh Legends on March 5.

Yuvraj Singh and Sachin Tendulkar
Yuvraj Singh and Sachin Tendulkar. (Photo Source: Instagram)

Former Indian cricketers Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj Singh would be soon seen in action on the field when they play for India Legends in the Road Safety World Series 2021. The tournament, which was originally scheduled for March 2020, had to be postponed due to the pandemic. Now, the tournament will be starting once again from March 5 in Raipur. 

The matches of this tournament were supposed to be played in Mumbai and Pune, but they were shifted out of the city due to strict rules set up by Maharashtra Government. The matches will now be played at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur, Chhattisgarh. Yuvraj announced on Instagram that he has reached Raipur along with Tendulkar. 

Yuvraj shared a picture of him and Tendulkar wearing a PPE kit as they arrived in the city. The India legends’ first match after the resumption would be against Bangladesh legends on March 5. Yuvraj captioned the picture by adding, “And we have arrived in Raipur!! @sachintendulkar #roadsafety series! par apni safety bhi zaroori hai bhai ! wear a mask”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Yuvraj Singh (@yuvisofficial)

Yusuf Pathan joins brother Irfan Pathan in the Indian legends squad

Several former Indian cricketers will be playing in this tournament and along with Yuvraj and Tendulkar. 2011 World Cup winners Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan and Munaf Patel are a part of the squad. Apart from that, Irfan Pathan, his brother Yusuf Pathan, Vinay Kumar and Naman Ojha, all of whom retired recently have also been named in the India legends squad. 

The team had played two matches in the league when it had originally begun last year. They played against West Indies legends and Sri Lanka legends, winning both the matches. Unfortunately, Australia Legends couldn’t take part in this league this time around, due to the COVID-19 lockdown. In place of them, Bangladesh Legends and England Legends have been called in. 

Several other star players from the past will be present at the league. To name a few, there will be Tillakaratne Dilshan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kevin Pietersen, Brian Lara and Muttiah Muralitharan. The knockout stages of the tournament will be played from March 17, with the final on March 21.