Top 10 legendary players who never won World Cup and IPL titles

There are many legends of the game who are devoid of both the trophies yet.

View : 304K

11 Min Read

AB de Villiers
Top 10 legendary players who never won World Cup and IPL titles

Both the ICC Cricket World Cup and the IPL are two important events that every cricketer wants to savour at least once in their lifetime. While the cricket World Cup being the loftiest of all trophies does get commemorated after every four years, the IPL on the other hand is held once each year since 2008.

However, with both these pinnacle events also being like Everest to triumph, not many of the greatest of cricketers have been fortunate enough to attain these glories. Probably a few bunches of them despite getting utterly close have eventually come second in the end. Hence in this list, let’s check out

10 Legends who haven’t won both the World Cup and the IPL

1. Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

The beloved Universal Boss has been active in international cricket since the year 1999. Despite now being 41-years of age, Chris Gayle has been vigorously playing both international and Global T20 cricket but unfortunately the Jamaican is yet in due to either win an IPL or a World Cup.

While during his pursuit to make West Indies win their third World Cup glory, Gayle has featured in 5 ODI World Cups since the year 2003. However with the WI team attaining an enfeeblement since the start of the 21st century, neither in one of those occasions, the Caribbeans have qualified even for the semi-finals. While the 2019 World Cup was supposed to be his last ODI endeavor, Gayle had recently announced that he won’t retire from limited-overs cricket till the age of 45. Hence maybe the upcoming 2023 World Cup in India can be his last chance to ultimately bag a World Cup trophy especially in a career that is already more than two decades-long.

Now coming to the IPL, Chris Gayle had started his IPL journey with the KKR franchise and so far has best lived his eminent days with the RCB franchise. By getting bagged by RCB in 2011, Gayle had immediately soared the red army to a final spot in the 2011 edition, but unfortunately, his malfunction in the final did make the team finish as runners-up. Probably another time where Gayle was utterly closest to win the IPL trophy was in 2016 when RCB had merely lost to SRH by 8 runs in the final. Overall, with the Jamaican now getting indulged with the Punjab franchise, at least for once Gayle would hope to clinch one of T20 cricket’s biggest glories.

Page1 / 10

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store