15 Laws of cricket that you need to know

15 Laws of cricket that you need to know

15 Laws of cricket that you need to know: Cricket is not just about bat, ball, and entertainment. There are certain laws which govern this game. A special law was formed in 1789 by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). These rules are not complicated; they are the simple rules which a cricketer must know in order to play the game fairly. The Law Book has 42 different laws which are categorised with respect to game play, players, umpires and other officials. Many cricket fans know the basics rules of cricket, but don’t possess the in depth about the rules.

Here are the 15 Laws of cricket that you need to know:

1. Leg Before Wicket (LBW):

The law 36 of the rule book states that the batsman may be declared out LBW, if,

  • The bowler bowls a legal delivery.
  • The ball pitches in line between wicket and wicket or on the offside of the striker’s wicket.
  • The ball has not touched his bat.
  • The batsman has made a genuine attempt to play the ball (the condition is only valid if the ball pitches on the imaginary area between the wickets).
  • The ball would have gone and hit the stumps.
Also Read – 5 Unknown Laws of Cricket

This law tells us how a batsman is declared out LBW if he has attempted to play a shot and the ball touches him anywhere below the hips before he touches the ball. The delivery should be legal and the ball must and should be on the off side between wicket to wicket and the point of impact should be below the level of bails. There are no proper records which state that who was the 1st batsman to be dismissed by LBW. In modern day cricket, LBW has become more popular among spinners as they twist and turn the ball and hit the batsmen on their pads.

Page 1 / 15