17-year-old Jemima Rodrigues named in the India A squad

17-year-old Jemima Rodrigues named in the India A squad

Jemima Rodrigues is the second player to score a double hundred in U19 One day tournament.

Mumbai's Jemimah Rodrigues News
17-year-old Mumbai’s Jemimah Rodrigues scored 202* runs against Saurashtra. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Mumbai’s sensational cricketer Jemima Rodrigues, who recently scored a record double hundred in the BCCI U19 women’s meet has been named in the India A squad for the limited overs series against Bangladesh. Two members of the Indian world cup team- pacer Mansi Joshi and second wicketkeeper Nuzhat Parveen have been included to the list.

Anuja Patil has been named the skipper for both the formats of the game- ODIs and T20Is. The series will contain three ODIs and as many T20I matches. The vsiting Bangladesh A side will play a couple of practice matches ahead of the series in Alur.

17-year-old Rodrigues became only the second Indian to hit a double century after Smriti Mandhana in U19 One-day competition. She scored an unbeaten 202 off 163 balls. She leads the Mumbai U19, West Zone U19 and U23 side. She also attended the senior Indian women’s camp, which was held in Bangalore.

She has also played hockey and can be seen practicing with guys above her age. “I was the center-forward of my school team, St Joseph’s, and have played nationals for the Mumbai and Maharashtra junior hockey teams,” Jemimah told Hindustan Times.

She scored 2 centuries during the tournament. A 178 against Gujarat on November 1 raised lots of hope for the cricket lovers and the management, as she has been dubbed special by the experts. She was sent to the U19 side while she was just 12. “Cover drive is my favourite shot. I have spent hours and hours for three-four years perfecting it with my dad, who is my coach also. It is my main shot,” the athlete said.

India ‘A’ Team for One-Day matches:

Anuja Patil (C), S Meghana, Neha Tanwar, Nuzhat Parveen(WK), Kavita Patil, Preeti Bose, Shivangi Raj, Devika Vaidya, V R Vanitha, Jemima Rodrigues, Neenu Choudhury, Mansi Joshi, Sukanya Parida, Priyanka Priyadarshani, M D Thirushkamini

India ‘A’ Team for T20 matches:

Anuja Patil (C), S Meghana, Jemima Rodrigues, Swagatika Rath, Pooja Vastrakar, T P Kanwar, Soni Yadav, Ramya S Doli, V R Vanitha, D Hemlatha, Devika Vaidya, Tanya Bhatia(WK), Meghna Singh, Radha Yadav, Tarannum Pathan.