4 Lesser-known records held by Indian players and teams in Twenty20 cricket

Here we look at four lesser-known records held by Indian cricketers and teams in the Twenty20 format.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) did certainly brought a revolution to the Twenty20 format as many other countries followed India’s footsteps to set up their own T20 leagues. The overseas players are often seen dominating some major records in the league. However, there are some lesser-known records which the Indian players and the teams from India do hold when it comes to the Twenty20 format. The IPL, Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament and the T20Is have seen the players and teams from India hold a variety of record in the T20 format.

Here we look at four lesser-known records held by Indian cricketers and teams in the Twenty20 format:

4. Most runs at a single venue

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo: Kuntal Chakrabarty/IANS)

Virat Kohli might not have led the IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore to a title will but has a special connection with its home ground the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. Kohli is the only player to have featured for the same team in all the 12 editions of the tournament till date. As a result, he got a chance to play quite a lot in Bangalore and boost his batting record. The Chinnaswamy Stadium is known for producing batting tracks and the short boundaries boost the chances of big scores.

Till date, Kohli featured in 89 T20 matches at this venue scoring 2762 runs at an average of 36.82. He smashed three centuries and 19 fifties across the 86 innings at a solid strike rate of 140.06. He was the first-ever player to amass 2000 T20 runs a single venue and his 2762 runs help him to hold the record for most T20 runs at a single venue.

Mushfiqur Rahim is the only other player to have scored 2000 T20 runs at a ground as he aggregated 2048 runs at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium across 86 Twenty20s.


Page 1 / 4