Aakash Chopra names his Test team of the decade

He hasn’t picked a captain for this squad as it obviously is a tough choice indeed.

Aakash Chopra
Aakash Chopra. (Photo Source: Facebook)

View : 8.9K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Picking the team of the decade has been trending for some time now irrespective of the format. The latest to join the bandwagon was Aakash Chopra. Former Indian batsmen, Aakash Chopra, who is known for his unique style and use of puns while commentating in Hindi, has named his Test team of the decade.

Chopra started with the opening combination of David Warner and Alastair Cook. They were run-machines for their respective countries in the past decade. While David Warner has had an impressive run in all three formats, Alastair Cook has silently sailed the ship for England with his cool and calm composure. Both have an amazing ability to convert their starts into big scores.

The middle-order was stacked up with this generation greats in the form of Joe Root, Virat Kohli, and Steve Smith. These three are currently in the prime form and have scored tons of runs. While Smith is known to bail out Australia from a spot of bother, Virat Kohli pounces on the bowlers with his extravagant shots. Joe Root, too, is known to convert his starts into big scores. Together this trio has scored around 21,556 runs in Test Matches.

Ravi Ashwin and Shakib Al Hasan as spinners

Ravi Ashwin and Shakib Al Hasan were chosen as the spinning all-rounders. Shakib has been a key player for Bangladesh across all formats. Ashwin, on the other hand, has been phenomenal balancing both his Away and Home record. Ashwin has a staggering 362 wickets in 70 Test Matches, while Shakib has 210 wickets in 56 Tests. Both also have the caliber to bat down the order efficiently.

BJ Watling is a surprise inclusion in this squad. He is the New Zealand Test specialist player. This wicketkeeper-batsman is great behind the stumps. His batting record too is good, scoring 3587 runs in 66 Matches with 8 centuries to his name.

The bowling line up is a lethal one with the inclusion of Dale Steyn, James Anderson, and Stuart Broad. Dale Steyn is the leading wicket-taker for South Africa in Tests scalping 439 wickets. He is a fiery bowler who generates pace through his shoulder and can bowl a fiery spell. James Anderson too is the leading wicket-taker for England with 577 wickets. Both have the ability to trouble the batsmen early on the innings with their swinging deliveries.

Aakash Chopra has chosen AB de Villiers as the 12th man for this team. He had an amazing Test career and has exploited opposition with his batting exploits. He hasn’t picked a captain for this squad as it obviously is a tough choice indeed.

Aakash Chopra’s Test team of the decade

David Warner, Alastair Cook, Joe Root, Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, BJ Watling, Shakib Al Hasan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, James Anderson. AB de Villiers (12th Man)