Aakash Chopra names his Test XI of the year 2018 and the side picked by the fans

Aakash Chopra names his Test XI of the year 2018 and the side picked by the fans

He announced the results of the poll on his YouTube channel.

Aakash Chopra
Aakash Chopra. (Photo Source: Facebook)

As the year is coming to an end, former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra decided to name his Test XI of 2018 and also the one picked by his fans. The cricketer conducted a poll on Twitter where there were several fans who put up their opinions. He announced the results of the poll on his YouTube channel in a video – “YOUR Test XI of the year #AakashVani”.

Fans XI

For the role of the opener, former England cricketer Alastair Cook was picked. Cook retired from all forms of cricket this year after the series against India. After some tough times initially, he ended on a high with a century to finish things off. The other opener in the XI is South Africa’s Aiden Markram who also had a great run in 2018.

India’s number three batsman Cheteshwar Pujara was picked in the poll for the same position in this XI. Pujara played some great knocks in South Africa and England. The right-hander started well in Australia at the moment as has got a critical role to play in the last two Tests.

The next three batsmen are a part of the ‘fab-four’. England Test skipper Joe Root, Indian skipper Virat Kohli and New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson feature in this XI. These three form a formidable middle-order. England’s Jonny Bairstow will be the wicket-keeper in this side. There is only one spinner in the bowling department and it is Nathan Lyon. Jasprit Bumrah, Kagiso Rabada and Mohammed Shami will finish the attack.

Fans XI: Alastair Cook, Aiden Markram, Cheteshwar Pujara, Joe Root, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow, Nathan Lyon, Jasprit Bumrah, Kagiso Rabada, Mohammed Shami.

Aakash Chopra’s XI

Aakash Chopra changed things slightly with his team though. He replaced Cook with Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunaratne. Also, he removed Joe Root from the earlier side and replaced him with Harris Sohail of Pakistan. The former opener further added that Kane Williamson will lead the side. The other change in his XI is in the pace department where Stuart Broad will replace Mohammed Shami.

Aakash Chopra’s XI: Dimuth Karunaratne, Aiden Markram, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson (c), Harris Sohail, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Nathan Lyon, Jasprit Bumrah, Kagiso Rabada, Stuart Broad.

Watch the video here

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.