All you need to know about Women's Ashes 2017

All you need to know about Women’s Ashes 2017

The contest will be played across all three formats.

Rachael Haynes of Australia and Heather Knight of England
Team captains Rachael Haynes of Australia and Heather Knight of England pose for a photo. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

The Commonwealth Women’s Ashes is set to begin from October 22, Sunday, in Australia. The contest will be played across all three formats. The team that gains the most points will be awarded the Trophy.

Australia and England will play seven matches in total comprising of three ODIs, one day-night Test and three T20Is. Each limited-overs victory is worth two points (one point incase of a tie or if the game is abandoned), while the winner of the Test will walk away with four points (two points each in case of a draw).

Australia’s Southern Stars currently hold the Ashes which they claimed in 2015, when they travelled to England and won the multi-format series. The series ended 10-6 in Australia’s favour. Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry was instrumental in Australia’s success as she led the list of the leading run-scorers as well as the leading wicket-takers.

It is difficult to predict who start as favourites because Australia are not only the No. 1 team in the ICC ODI ranking, also have the home advantage, while England will be high on confidence after the World Cup victory and also their three-run win over their fiercest rivals in the group stage.

The Test match ought to be special

As reported by Cricket Australia, the match at North Sydney Oval will be the first Ashes day-night Test – for either gender – and the first pink-ball women’s Test. If that’s not exciting enough, the match is supporting the McGrath Foundation, with Pink Stumps Day to be held on day three of the match. On day two, the Richies – the group of Benaud devotees who have become an iconic part of the SCG Test – will be in attendance, so expect a great atmosphere across the four days!

Players to look out for:

Ellyse Perry for Australia has been a match-winner not only in the previous Ashes, but is pretty much synonymous with impact. With skipper Meg Lanning out with injury, all eyes will be on Perry to do something special yet again. Stand-in skipper Rachael Haynes has had a good start in the summer while Elyse Villani has already racked up two tons- one in the WNCL and one in the warm-up match. Ashleigh Gardner’s off-spin has got her a spot in the ODI team, but she is yet to reveal her ability with the bat.

Anya Shrubsole and Katherine Brunt will be spearheading the England bowling attack, while Alex Hartley will be looking to replicate what she did against Australia in the World Cup. Sophie Ecclestone did not feature in the World Cup, and it is highly unlikely that she will be the first preference, considering Hartley’s form, but she has earned a spot in the team with a terrific domestic scene. All-rounder Nathalie Sciver is devastating with the form and her form will be the key.


22 October- 1st ODI, Brisbane (Allan Border Field) (00:15 BST)

26 October- 2nd ODI, Coffs Harbour (04:40 BST)

29 October- 3rd ODI, Coffs Harbour (00:15 GMT)

9-12 November- Only Test, Sydney (North Sydney Oval) (d/n) (03:30 GMT)

17 November 1st Twenty20 international, Sydney (North Sydney Oval) (08:10 GMT)

19 November 2nd Twenty20 international, Canberra (03:35 GMT)

21 November 3rd Twenty20 international, Canberra (08:10 GMT)

Where to watch:

All six limited-overs matches will be broadcast live and free by the Nine Network. The historic day-night Test at North Sydney Oval from 9-12 November will feature high-quality streaming exclusively on and the Cricket Australia Live app, while streaming of the shorter formats will also be available on mobile and desktop with a subscription.

In addition to the broadcast coverage on TV and online, ABC Radio has also confirmed they will provide coverage and commentary throughout the series.

England will be able to catch all the action during the Women’s Ashes via a free live stream on and the Cricket Network app.

Squads for Test and ODI:

Australia squad (ODI and Test): Rachael Haynes (C), Alex Blackwell (VC), Kristen Beams, Nicole Bolton, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa (Test only), Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

England squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Nat Sciver, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt

Squads for the T20i will be announced after the ODI series.