Amidst Shakib Al Hasan controversy, BCB announces revamped squads for India tour

Amidst Shakib Al Hasan controversy, BCB announces revamped squads for India tour

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam has replaced Shakib in the T20I setup.

Mominul Haque
Mominul Haque celebrates his hundred. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced revamped squads for their T20I and Test series versus India, starting November 3. Shakib Al Hasan was the skipper in the earlier squads. However, after the ICC suspended him, the board has named Mahmudullah and Mominul Haque as the T20I and Test captain. Shakib won’t be returning until October 29, 2020 when his ban ends.

Mahmudullah has experience of leading the national side. Even previously, there was uncertainty over Shakib’s participation in the series after BCB chief Nazmul Hasan Papon was disappointed with his attitude over missing practice matches. The Jessore-born Shakib did not attend training sessions and a meeting with senior players for discussing strategy for the India tour.

Mohammad Mithun added to both squads

Taijul Islam, who made his T20 return in the tri-series at home, has replaced Shakib. The Tigers also had to deal with the replacements of Tamim Iqbal and Mohammad Saifuddin. Tamim has pulled out of the tour in order to attend his wife, who’s expecting their third child later this month. As far as Saifuddin is concerned, a persistent back issue has led to his omission from the tour.

Mohammad Mithun has been included in both the squads. Mithun has been in and out of the Bangladesh team and he will look to prove a point to the selectors. He also played in the 2019 World Cup where he couldn’t quite make much of an impact. Left-handed Imrul Kayes, who recently smacked a double century in the National Cricket League (NCL), has been added to the Test squad.

The good news for the Tigers is that Mustafizur Rahman is a part of both the teams. The tour is also a chance for the likes of Abu Hider Rony and Al Amin Hossain to show some consistency.

Bangladesh T20I squad:

Mahmudullah (c), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Abu Hider

Bangladesh Test squad:

Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hassan, Mominul Haque (c), Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain

[interaction id=”5db83cbb92354882c41750fb”]