Ashes 2021-22: Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Warne debate on probable 'hitting the stumps' law after Ben Stokes' incident

Ashes 2021-22: Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Warne debate on probable ‘hitting the stumps’ law after Ben Stokes’ incident

Stokes could have been dismissed 'Bowled' in the first innings of the SCG Test, but luck favoured the batter.

Shane Warne and Sachin Tendulkar
Shane Warne and Sachin Tendulkar. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

While Australia have completely dominated England in the ongoing Ashes 2021-22 so far, the visitors did have luck favouring them for a change. During the third day of the third Test, a delivery bowled to Ben Stokes at 142km/h wasn’t able to dislodge the bails.

When this delivery was replayed on the big screen, the star all-rounder laughed his belly out, that’s how bizarre this moment truly was. As harsh as it was for the hosts and their bowler Cameron Green, who bowled this delivery, chance of taking a wicket went begging. In the meantime, former Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar took to Twitter to propose a new law.

He asked if there should be a new law called “hitting the stumps”, where the ball hits the stumps, but doesn’t dislodge the bails. While tagging the former Australian spinner Shane Warne, he also reckoned the law to be fair for the bowlers as well.

I will take this to the world cricket committee for discussion: Shane Warne

“Should a law be introduced called ‘hitting the stumps’ after the ball has hit them but not dislodged the bails? What do you think guys? Let’s be fair to bowlers! 😜😬😋 @shanewarne. #AshesTest,” read Tendulkar’s tweet.


While quoting this tweet, the former leggie said that he would take this idea to the world cricket committee. “Interesting point & one to debate my friend. I will take this to the world cricket committee for discussion & come back to you. Never seen anything like that today – Greene’s delivery was 142kph and hit the stump hard !!!!! 😩😂,” read Warne’s reply to the former Indian batter.

However, the legendary spinner was still of the opinion that the bails needed to be dislodged. While speaking to Fox Cricket, he felt that it could turn out to be very time consuming if the rules are changed with respect to the ball just hitting the stumps. Thus, the 52-year-old said that everything will then be reviewed.

“It’s a discussion point. But I think the bails should be dislodged. I think the bails have to be dislodged. Otherwise it’s going to take too much time out of the game … do you review everything? ‘Oh hang on, that might’ve hit the stumps because you heard a noise’,” he said.