Asia Cup 2018: UAE Exchange likely to replace Micromax as the title sponsor

Asia Cup 2018: UAE Exchange likely to replace Micromax as the title sponsor

A total of 13 ODIs will be played this time unlike the previous edition when only 11 matches took place.

Winning Asia Cup in Bangladesh, 2016
India won the Asia Cup in 2016 (Photo Source: The Morung Express)

Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has set the ball rolling for the upcoming Asia Cup after revealing the schedule of the tournament. It will commence on September 15 in the United Arab Emirates as Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will lock horns. The format of the competition is also changed this time around and two more matches will be played this year compared to the previous edition. However, the title sponsor is set to be changed with UAE exchange in lead to replace Micromax.

UAE Exchange is the United Arab Emirates finance company engaged in remittances, foreign exchange and bill payments solutions. It is about to become the title sponsor for the Asia Cup this year and the deal is expected to be closed around a whopping Rs 22 Crores.

Immense response expected for Asia Cup

Micromax had committed Rs 13-14 Crores two years ago for the 11-match T20 Asia Cup. This time a total of 13 ODI matches will be played thanks to the introduction of the Super Four format. Also, the prospect of at least two India-Pakistan matches is expected to generate a lot of interest in the tournament.

“Considering Indian Premier League’s ratings on Star Sports, a ₹2 crore for a match is an absolutely realistic value for the Asia Cup title. Let us not forget there are likely to be at least two, or possibly 3, India-Pakistan games, which will invoke immense response in the two countries. For a multinational brand with its operations in India and Pakistan, this Asia Cup is a great marketing opportunity,” a leading media buyer told Inside Sport.

The arch-rivals will meet for the first time on September 19 since Champions Trophy final last year as the tournament will conclude on September 28. All the matches will be played in Dubai and Abu Dhabi and the heat in the UAE is likely to take its toll on the players involved in the competition.

[interaction id=”5b5b0e6d96df42218ab02024″]

Follow CricTracker for latest cricketing trends and developments