AUS vs IND, 2020: 2nd T20I – India's unbeaten run in T20Is, A record streak while chasing and more stats

AUS vs IND, 2020: 2nd T20I – India’s unbeaten run in T20Is, A record streak while chasing and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from India’s 6-wicket victory during the 2nd AUS vs IND T20I.

T Natarajan and Virat Kohli
T Natarajan and Virat Kohli. (Photo by Matt King – CA/Cricket Australia via Getty Images)

India completed a T20I series win against Australia after they took a series-winning lead of 2-0 in Sydney. Matthew Wade stepped into captaincy shoes in the absence of Aaron Finch. Wade hit a 32-ball 58 with 11 boundaries and paved the way for the Aussies to reach 194/5. Shikhar Dhawan (52), KL Rahul (30) and Virat Kohli (40) did not let the required rate go high but a couple of tight overs brought down the equation to 29 from two overs. Shreyas Iyer hit a couple of boundaries off Adam Zampa in the 19th over before Hardik Pandya wrapped up the game with an unbeaten 22-ball 42 by smashing two sixes in three balls in the final over.

Here are all the statistical highlights from India’s 6-wicket victory during the 2nd AUS vs IND T20I:

India extends its unbeaten run in T20Is:

9* – India has extended their winning streak in T20I cricket to nine matches which include two Super Over victories. The only team to win more than nine consecutive matches in Men’s T20I cricket is Afghanistan with 12 in a row during 2018-2019 and 11 in succession during 2016-2017. India has also won each of their last five bilateral series in T20I cricket.

11* – India has not lost any of the 11 T20Is they played since their defeat against West Indies in Trivandrum last year. Only two teams have longer unbeaten streaks in Men’s T20Is without a defeat – 12 by Australia in 2010 and 12 by Afghanistan during 2018-2019.

India’s record streak while chasing:

9 – India won each of their last nine matches while chasing a target in the T20I format which is the 2nd longest winning streak while chasing in this format. Pakistan had won 11 successive T20Is while batting second between 2016 and 2018.

Also Read

3 – India played three T20Is at the Sydney cricket ground and won each of them while chasing. India is the only team against which Australia lost a T20I at the SCG thus far.

India goes past Pakistan:

13 – India has won as many as 13 matches in T20I cricket against Australia; the most matches which Australia lost outright against any team in this format. Pakistan also won 13 T20Is against Australia which includes a win coming via Super Over.

Wade makes his T20I captaincy debut:

1 – Matthew Wade, with his 58, became the first Australian keeper-captain to score a fifty in the T20I format. In Men’s T20I cricket, only Adam Gilchrist and Brad Haddin have been keeper-captain before Wade for Australia in two games apiece.

Chahal turns expensive:

3 – Yuzvendra Chahal became the first Indian and overall the 4th player to conceded 50+ runs in a T20I game on three or more different occasions. Christopher Mpofu had four such instances while Barry McCarthy and Rubel Hossain also conceded 50+ runs in a T20I on three occasions.

End of Rahul’s powerplay streak:

1 – KL Rahul has been dismissed during the powerplay overs for the first time in the last ten T20Is. Rahul scored 294 runs at 163.3 strike rate during the powerplay overs in those ten matches. The last instance of Rahul getting dismissed in T20I powerplay was against West Indies in the last year’s T20I hosted by Trivandrum.

India gets contributions from all batters:

2 – India’s chase was only the 2nd instance for them when as many as four players scored 30+ runs. The other such instance came against Sri Lanka in the Indore T20I earlier this year.

2 – India, during the 2nd AUS vs IND T20I became only the 2nd team to have each of their top six batters hitting a four and a six in a T20I inning. England’s top six achieved this against New Zealand in the 2013 Auckland T20I. Overall, this was the 7th instance of as many as six players hitting at least one four and a six in the same T20I innings and the first such occasion for India.

9 – The nine sixes hit by India in their chase are the 2nd most by any visiting team in a T20I against Australia. England batters struck a total of 11 sixes during the 2014 Hobart T20I also during a chase.