AUS vs IND, 2020: 2nd T20I – Statistical Preview

AUS vs IND, 2020: 2nd T20I – Statistical Preview

Here are all the key stats and numbers ahead of the crucial 2nd T20I to be played in Sydney.

Australia v India
Australia v India. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Australia and India return to Sydney to play the remaining two matches of the T20I series at the SCG. The Manuka Oval in Canberra turned out to be a fruitful venue for India where they got a consolation win in the ODI series before they clinched a thrilling first T20I. Australia will be hoping to return to winning ways in Sydney where they won both the games of the ODI series. India loses the services of Ravindra Jadeja for the remainder of the series while the Aussies roped in Nathan Lyon.

Here are all the key stats and numbers ahead of the crucial 2nd T20I to be played in Sydney:

0 – KL Rahul has not been dismissed during the powerplay overs (1-6) in the T20I format in 2020. Across eight T20I innings this year, Rahul has scored 226 runs during the powerplay at a strike rate of 162.6.

2 – India won both the T20I matches they played at the Sydney Cricket ground against the home side – by 7 wickets in 2016 and by 6 wickets in 2019. The current Indian skipper Virat Kohli scored fifties in both those matches. Interestingly, Australia won all the four completed T20Is in Men’s cricket they played against teams other than India at the SCG.

Also Read

4 – All the four completed Men’s T20I matches played at the SCG since the start of 2010 have been won by the chasing teams only. Australia were on course of a win while chasing against Pakistan last year at this venue before the rain washed off the game.

4/5 – Four of the five dismissals in the T20I format of Virat Kohli on Australian soil came against wrist spinners only (Brad Hogg, Cameron Boyce, Adam Zampa and Mitchell Swepson). The only Australian pacer to dismiss Virat Kohli in a home T20I was Mitchell Marsh way back in 2012. This meant Kohli has not been dismissed to a pacer in any of his last six T20I innings in Australia.

10* – India has not lost any of their last nine matches played in the T20I format; their longest unbeaten streak in T20I cricket. India also won each of their last eight T20I matches which includes two Super Over victories. This is also the longest winning streak for India in Men’s T20I cricket.

12 – Bowling strike rate of Mitchell Starc in the Twenty20 format at the Sydney Cricket ground. The left-arm pacer picked up 15 wickets across 8 T20s he played at the venue at an average of 14.46.

46.25 – Steve Smith has a batting average of 46.25 in Twenty20 format at the SCG. He has scored 370 runs across 11 T20 innings at the venue with help of four fifties and has a strike rate of 138.57.

170.46 – Batting strike rate of Sanju Samson during the middle overs (7-15) in the Twenty20 format in 2020. Samson hit 21 sixes and 15 fours during this phase in 2020 all while averaging 33.33.