Aussie Batsman David Warner Wins Allan Border Medal

Aussie Batsman David Warner Wins Allan Border Medal

David Warner
David Warner. (© Getty Images)

Explosive Australian opening batsman David Warner has been awarded the Allan Border medal for the year 2016. The decision to bestow the award upon Warner with the prestigious award comes as a surprise as current Aussie skipper Steven Smith was a close contender. Warner also bagged the test player of the year while awards were bestowed on Ellyse Perry, Adam Voges, Glenn Maxwell and Alex Ross.

David Warner won the poll by a country mile as he bagged a whopping 240 votes. Steven Smith and Mitchell Starc followed closely behind Warner falling short by 21 and 57 votes respectively. In the test player of the year, Warner once again came up trumps as he secured 30 votes overall. Once again, Steve Smith and Mitchell Starc followed with Josh Hazelwood also a firm contender.

Speaking after receiving the award from Crown Golden Ale, Warner said, “My heart is racing. I honestly thought Smudge had a terrific year and he would have taken this out. People said to me I could have been one of the greats of the game but I just sat there and let it go through my ears. You can only control what you control on the field. ”

David Warner concluded his speech by acknowledging his wife Candice and his two daughters Ivy Mae and Indie Mae, stating that,” I probably wouldn’t be playing cricket today without you. “I love waking up every day and knowing I’m playing for Australia, and I wouldn’t change a thing.”

Glenn Maxwell picked up the award for the ODI player of the year. Surprisingly, Steven Smith, the winner of the 2015 edition failed to win a single award, eventually going winless in the night of champions.


Test Player of the Year and Allan Border Medal: David Warner

Hall of Fame: Jeff Thomson and Wally Grout

Domestic Player of the Year: Adam Voges

Belinda Clark Award: Ellyse Perry

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Alex Ross

ODI Player of the Year: Glenn Maxwell