Australia name squad for the historic Day-Night Ashes Test

A win in this match could see Australia take an unassailable lead in the series: Selector

Ashleigh gardner
Ashleigh Gardner of Australia looks on during the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 match between Pakistan and Australia. (Photo Source: Nathan Stirk/Getty Images)

Cricket Australia (CA) has named the 13-member squad for the historic Ashes Day-Night Test as the women’s team take on England in order to retain the Ashes at home. Out of the 13 players, as many as 5 of them are uncapped which include the likes of Ashleigh Gardner, Tahlia McGrath and Amanda-Jade Wellington.

The team does not have a place for leg-spinner Kristen Beams and pacer Belinda Vakarewa for the Test starting on Thursday (November 9) at North Sydney Oval. If the Aussies manage to win the Test match, it will seal the Ashes for the hosts as they won the One-Day International leg by a margin of 2-1.


“Belinda showed promising signs with the ball and is definitely a player of the future, and whilst she would be disappointed, it’s pleasing to see so many pace bowlers putting their hands up for selection. Kristen was also unlucky to miss out on selection, with the panel opting to go with just the one leg-spinner in the side,” claimed the selector for the Southern Stars, Shawn Flegler, on the axing of Kristen Beams and Belinda Vakarewa.

Further, the selector stressed on the fact that they were looking for a bowling heavy unit capable of clinching 20 wickets and sealing the Ashes. “A win in this match could see Australia take an unassailable lead in the series and retain the Ashes, so it was important that the side was well-balanced and capable of taking 20 wickets,” concluded Flegler according to Cricbuzz.

The Australian squad will have a training session under lights at North Sydney Oval on Tuesday evening followed by a final practice on Wednesday afternoon.

Australia Test squad:

Alex Blackwell, Nicole Bolton, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (c), Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington