Australia to rest two pacers in early ODIs against England

Adam Zampa is also in the squad for the MCG one-dayer and conditions will dictate whether he plays.

Steve Smith and Trevor Hohns
Steve Smith and Trevor Hohns. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Ahead of the first ODI between Australia and England, the latest update is that fast bowler Josh Hazlewood will miss the first game against England on January 14, while Patrick Cummins will be rested for the second ODI of the series that will be held on January 19.

Cricket Australia forecast breaks for their prized quicks in the latter stages of the SCG Test and have followed through, introducing Andrew Tye and Jhye Richardson to the squad as back-up. One or both Perth Scorchers players could debut at the MCG on Sunday alongside Cummins before the New South Welshman is rested for the second game in Brisbane and replaced by Hazlewood, as reported by Fox Sports.

Mitchell Starc – in or out?

However, there has been no announcement from Cricket Australia as to when Mitchell Starc will be rested during the series, although it is likely that he will have some time off at some point. Cummins and Hazlewood played all five Tests during Australia’s victorious Ashes campaign, with the former sending down 197.1 overs and the latter 190.5 overs. Both speedsters took more than 20 wickets, justifying their importance to the national team.

The decision to give rest to the speedsters stems from their need to be at their best with a tour of South Africa coming up which will pit the two finest bowling attacks in the world against one another and hence, Cricket Australia is keen to manage their workloads. Leg-spinner Adam Zampa is also in the squad for the MCG one-dayer and conditions will dictate whether he plays or Australia goes in with a four-pronged pace attack.

England’s campaign in Australia had been a forgettable one because of their underwhelming performance in the 5-match Ashes Test series. Whether their fortunes change in the limited overs series is a question only they can answer.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Cameron White, Adam Zampa.