Australia vs India: Hosts put forth their squad for remaining Tests

Australia vs India: Hosts put forth their squad for remaining Tests

Australia won the Perth Test by 146 runs.

Australian players
Australian players. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Ever since the ball-tampering scandal at Newlands in Cape Town, Australia haven’t had the best of times in Test cricket. After the incident, they didn’t win the single Test match until their opening Test against India at the renowned Adelaide Oval where they lost by 31 runs. However, their fortunes turned in the second encounter at the new Perth Stadium, where emerged victorious by 146 runs.

After the hosts put up 326 runs in the first innings, their bowlers helped their team to an essential lead of 43 runs despite Indian captain Virat Kohli’s 25th Test century. In the fourth innings, Tim Paine and Co set a humongous target of 287 runs for their opponents, which they comfortably defended. In the meantime, Cricket Australia (CA) named a 13-man squad for the upcoming two encounters.

What are the changes?

The third Test is scheduled to start on Wednesday, December 26 at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). The final encounter will take place at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) from January 03. After their thumping victory in Perth, the Aussies have retained the same squad. Paine will be the captain and he would want to carry forward his team’s rich vein of form in the format.

Peter Handscomb, who has been under the scanner for his lacklustre performances, has been persisted with. The focus will be on the likes of Nathan Lyon and Travis Head, their leading players in the four-match Test series. The onus will also be on the fast bowlers- Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood, all of whom have been a tough nut to crack for the Indian batsmen.

Here is the squad

Tim Paine(C), Mitchell Marsh, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Chris Tremain

[interaction id=”5c162a0c08b5341855788419″]

Follow the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction live on CricTracker.