Australia vs Pakistan, 2019: 2nd T20I – Statistical Preview

Australia vs Pakistan, 2019: 2nd T20I – Statistical Preview

All the key stats and numbers ahead of the 2nd T20I between Australia and Pakistan in Canberra.

Australia. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

Australia and Pakistan will face-off in the 2nd T20I on Tuesday after the rain in Sydney denied a win for the home side in the first match. The Manuka Oval in Canberra will be hosting this game which will mark its T20I debut. The winner of this game will take an unassailable 1-0 lead in the 3-match T20I series. Pakistan continues to rely on Babar Azam, the current No.1 batsman in the T20I format. During the first game, Babar alone scored 59* off 38 balls while the remaining batters aggregated 47 runs from 52 balls.

All the key stats and numbers ahead of the 2nd T20I between Australia and Pakistan in Canberra:

1 – The Canberra’s Manuka Oval will be the 11th venue in Australia to host a Men’s T20I game. The venue previously hosted 5 T20s – 4 in the BBL and the other involving PM’s XI.

5-0 – Australia won all the five International matches they played at the Manuka Oval. They featured in four ODI matches between 2013 and 2016 at this venue and won the only Test played here by 366 runs in 2019 only.

5 – The washout in the Sydney T20I brought an end to Australia’s 5-match winning streak in the T20I cricket. It also put an end to Australia’s 5-match losing streak in this format against Pakistan.

11 – Fakhar Zaman bagged golden ducks in previous two innings in the T20I format. Only 11 players till date including Mohammad Hafeez (Only player from Pakistan) have bagged ducks in three consecutive T20I innings. Fakhar could become the 2nd player after Scotland’s Colin Smith to record three consecutive golden ducks in T20Is if he gets out on the first ball yet again.

15 – David Warner has 15 fifty-plus scores in only 23 Twenty20 innings in 2019 – two hundreds and 13 fifties. Only two players have scored more 50+ scores in T20s in a calendar year – 18 by Virat Kohli in 2016 and 16 by Chris Gayle in 2012.

82 – Pat Cummins has bagged 82 wickets in 2019 across 30 International matches at an average of 19.53. Since 2010, only Mitchell Starc (88 wickets in 2015) has taken more wickets in a calendar year for Australia than Cummins in 2019.

219* – David Warner has scored 219 runs since the start of the T20I series against Sri Lanka; all without getting dismissed. Only two players have even scored more runs between two dismissals in Men’s T20I cricket – Aaron Finch (240 runs in 2018) and Hashim Amla (224 runs in 2016).

1551 – Babar Azam has aggregated 1551 runs thus far across 37 innings in the T20 format this year. These are the 3rd most runs by any player in a calendar year in Twenty20 cricket behind Chris Gayle’s 1665 runs (in 2015) and Virat Kohli’s 1614 runs (in 2016). Babar has a maximum of two T20 innings in 2019 to break Gayle’s record by scoring 115 runs.