Australia vs Pakistan, 2019: 3rd T20I – Statistical Preview

All the key stats and numbers ahead of the last T20I of 2019 for both Australia and Pakistan.

Australia and Pakistan
Australia and Pakistan. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

Australia will be hoping to finish off the 3-match T20I series against Pakistan with yet another comfortable win and clinch the series by 2-0 margin. The year 2019 has been a tough one for Pakistan as they lost all the three T20I series and don’t have a chance to win the current series. The Australians, on the other hand, have had a glorious 2019 in the shorter format. They defeated India by 2-0 in February and followed it with a 3-0 whitewash at home over Sri Lanka.

All the key stats and numbers ahead of the last T20I of 2019 for both Australia and Pakistan:

3 – Pakistan won all the previous three T20I series against Australia that contained more than one game. Australia needs to win the game in Perth to register their maiden multi-game T20I series win over Pakistan. Even a washout on Friday will help the home team’s cause.


3/5Steve Smith has scored three fifties in his last five T20I innings. Overall, Smith has struck four fifties across 28 innings in his T20I career but only one came in his first 23 innings.

3Babar Azam is one of the three players with fifties in first two matches as captain in the T20I format. Ireland’s Paul Stirling and South Africa’s Quinton de Kock also achieved this feat also in 2019 only.

6-0 – Australia has played seven T20I matches in 2019 winning in six of them while another game ended without a result. If the Aussies don’t lose in Perth, they will break Afghanistan’s record for most T20I matches played without a defeat in a calendar year. The Afghans won all the seven T20Is they played in 2018.

6 – Pakistan has not won any of their last six T20I matches which includes a washout. This is the longest streak for Pakistan in T20Is without winning a game. They lost six consecutive T20I matches in 2010 after the WT20. Pakistan managed to win only one out of the nine T20Is they played this year thus far.

12 – The Perth Stadium will be the 12th Australian venue to host a T20I game in Men’s cricket. The venue previously hosted eight Big Bash League matches out of which the hosts Perth Scorchers won only three.

15 – Number of fifty-plus scores for David Warner and Babar Azam in the Twenty20 format this year; the joint 3rd most number of fifty-plus scores in T20s for any player in a calendar year. Virat Kohli holds the record with 18 fifty-plus scores in 2016 while Chris Gayle had 16 such knocks in 2012.

1601 – Runs Babar Azam has amassed in the Twenty20 format this year; the most by any player in 2019 and the 3rd most T20 runs for any player in a calendar year. Chris Gayle leads the list with 1665 runs in 2015 while Virat Kohli amassed 1614 runs in 2016. Babar needs 65 runs in Perth T20I for breaking Gayle’s record as the game will be his last appearance in a Twenty20 game in 2019.