Australia vs Sri Lanka: Visitors announce the 16-man squad for the Test series

Lahiru Thirimanne and Kusal Perera returned to the Test set up.

Dinesh Chandimal
Dinesh Chandimal. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Australia’s home summer hasn’t begun on an auspicious note as they conceded the Test series for the first time to India at home. They have a chance of coming back strongly though as Sri Lanka are set to tour the country for the two-match Test series. The tourists will look to take the leaf out of India’s book and punch above their weight against the under-fire hosts.

In the meantime, SLC has announced the 16-man squad for the tour and has dropped Danushka Gunathilaka. Kusal Perera, after his strong showing in New Zealand, has finally broken through to the Test side and will be looking to make the most of the opportunity. Dinesh Chandimal is back to leading the side in the whites now while the veteran Angelo Mathews misses out again due to the injury he sustained while batting in the second Test against the Kiwis.


Who will assist Karunaratne at the top?

The squad misses the specialist opener though as the vice-captain Dimuth Karunaratne will once again have to make do with a new partner. Gunathilaka was a liability to say the least in New Zealand and Kusal Perera might open now which will be interesting. Sadeera Samarawickrama is also another option who has opened previously but the conditions in Australia might make life tougher for the youngster.

Interestingly, Lahiru Thirimanne has also made a comeback according to BBC Sinhala and he is also another option at the top of the order. His experience will come in handy for island nation down under in Mathews’ absence. The first Test of the two-match series will commence on January 24 at The Gabba in Brisbane after which the action will move to Canberra with the final Test starting on February.

Currently, Sri Lanka are in New Zealand and have been blanked by the home side in the ODIs. Their tour will conclude on January 11 with the only T20I and a victory in this game will certainly give a boost to them before travelling to Australia.

Sri Lanka squad for Australia tour: Dinesh Chandimal (c), Dimuth Karunaratne (vc), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Roshen Silva, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Australia vs Sri Lanka series, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on