Australia’s streaks that were broken by India in International cricket

Australia were on a 19-match winning streak while chasing in the World Cup before they faced India on Sunday.

Rahul Dravid 2002 Adelaide Test
Rahul Dravid 2002 Adelaide Test. (Photo by Tony Lewis/Getty Images)

India is well known for putting breaks to Australia’s winning streaks often and they proved it once again when they faced off in the World Cup 2019 game at the Kennington Oval. India won the game by 36 runs as the Aussies failed to chase a total in the World Cup for the first time since 1999. Australia were successful in their 19 World Cup chases coming into the game against India. Their last defeat in the World Cup while chasing came against Pakistan when they fell 11 runs short of the target during the game at the Headingley in Leeds.

India also halted Australia’s 10-match winning streak in the ODI format which is the longest for the Aussies since 2011. Australia also won eight successive matches in the World Cup prior to this match; their 2nd longest streak in the competition. This was also the first time Australia conceded 350+ in a World Cup and the first time they had to concede 300+ while bowling first in the tournament.


Here are the biggest streaks of Australia which were brought to an end by India previously:

4. Joint-longest series winning streak in Test cricket:

Virat Kohli & Ajinkya Rahane
Virat Kohli & Ajinkya Rahane. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Australia won each of their last nine Test series before facing India in a 4-match Test series in India. The Aussies equalled the series winning record set by England way back in 1884-1891. After a close draw in the first game, the Aussies looked like breaking the 118-year old record. However, India won the 2nd and 4th matches to win the series 2-0. Between 2015 and 2017, India also won nine consecutive Test series but no team has won ten in a row yet.

3. The unbeaten streak at home in Test cricket:

India Australia 2008 Perth Test
India Australia 2008 Perth Test. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Between India’s victories in the 2003 Adelaide Test match and the 2008 Test in Perth, the Aussies went 25 consecutive home Tests without a defeat. The Australians showed their domination in this period winning 22 games while another three ending in a draw. The 25-match unbeaten streak is the joint-longest for any team at home.

Pakistan held this record as they went 26 successive home Tests without losing one between 1980 and 1986. Earlier that year, the 25-match unbeaten streak at home of Windies came to an end. Had India not won the 2008 Test in Perth, Australia would have gone past Pakistan and set a new record for the consecutive home Tests without a loss.

2. The longest unbeaten streak at home in ODI cricket:

Manish Pandey
Manish Pandey. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

During their limited-overs tour of Australia in 2016, India suffered four straight defeats due to their poor bowling. India were 0-4 down in the 5-match series that recorded scores of 290+ in all games till then. This allowed the Aussies to extend their unbeaten home run to 19 matches in the ODI format. This is the longest for any team surpassing the West Indian streak between 1986 and 1990.

Australia’s streak began in late 2014 and the World Cup at home boosted their run. India’s incapability at defending big totals allowed the Aussies to break the Windies’ record. India eventually defeated the hosts in the final game of the series as they chased down 331 as Manish Pandey smashed an unbeaten 104 and Rohit Sharma scoring 99.

1. The longest winning streak in Test cricket – Twice:


Australia toured India in 2001 for a 3-match Test series after winning 15 successive Tests. They rewrote the record for the longest winning streak in Test cricket with a whitewash against the Windies in the 5-match home series in 2000/01. Interestingly, it was the Caribbean team’s record that the Aussies broke during that series. Windies won 11 successive Tests in 1984 which stood as a record for nearly 16 years.

Australia won the Mumbai Test match by 10 wickets to extend their winning streak to 16 Tests. However, India bounced back in Kolkata by defeating the visitors after following-on thanks to a record stand by Laxman-Dravid pair and supported by Harbhajan Singh’s efforts with the ball. They went on to win the series as well by clinching the final game in Chennai by three wickets.

Later in 2007/08, the in-form Indian team toured Australia for a 4-match Test series. By that time, Australia had won 14 successive matches since the 2005 Boxing Day Test match. The series against India began on Boxing Day and the hosts started off with an easy win. The controversial Sydney Test saw the Aussies equal their World record winning streak. India bounced back strongly in the subsequent Test hosted by the WACA to halt the streak.