BAN vs SL: Angelo Mathews becomes first player to be dismissed on 99 and 199 in Test cricket

Mathews failed to get to his second Test double century in the first Test against home side Bangladesh.

Angelo Mathews
Angelo Mathews. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Pranchal Srivastava

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 1.5K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Sri Lanka veteran batter Angelo Mathews on May 16 (Monday) became the second batter from Sri Lanka to get out on 199 in the longest format of the game. The senior batter failed to get to his second Test double century in the first Test against home side Bangladesh at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.

Sri Lanka skipper Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss and opted to bat first. On the back of Mathews’s 199-run knock, the visitors finished their first innings on 397. Apart from Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal and Kusal Mendis also stroked excellent fifties to help the visitors post a competitive total on the board.

The right-handed batter had completed his century on Day 1 and was looking comfortable on Day 2 as well. However, Bangladesh spinner Nayeem Hasan got rid of the 34-year-old batter when he was playing on 199. Matthews decided to step out of the crease and hit the spinner through the leg-side, but he found Shakib Al Hasan at square leg and was caught. He also became the only player to be dismissed on 99 and 199 in Test cricket.

The veteran batter from Sri Lanka has now joined Indian batter KL Rahul in the 199-run club. In 2016, Rahul was also batting at 199 against England at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. However, the right-handed batter from India was scalped by leg-spinner Adil Rashid. However, the home side managed to win the contest by a big margin of an innings and 75 runs. The likes of Faf du Plessis, Steve Smith, Steve Waugh, Sanath Jayasuriya, Ian Bell, Dean Elgar, Younis Khan, and Mohammad Azharuddin also feature in the list.

Players to be dismissed on 199 in Test cricket

  1. Mudassar Nazar against India in Faisalabad 1984
  2. Mohammad Azharuddin against Sri Lanka in Kanpur 1984
  3. Matthew Elliot against England in Leeds 1997
  4. Sanath Jayasuriya against India in Colombo 1997
  5. Steve Waugh against West Indies in Bridgetown 1999
  6. Younis Khan against India in Lahore 2006
  7. Ian Bell against South Africa in London 2008
  8. Steve Smith against West Indies in Jamaica 2015
  9. KL Rahul against England in Chennai 2016
  10. Dean Elgar against Bangladesh in Potchefstroom 2017
  11. Faf du Plessis against Sri Lanka in Centurion 2020
  12. Angelo Matthews against Bangladesh in Chattogram 2022