Bangladesh management recalls Al-Amin Hossain for England series

Bangladesh management recalls Al-Amin Hossain for England series

Bangladesh cricketer Al-Amin Hossain (L). AFP PHOTO/ MUNIR UZ ZAMAN / AFP / MUNIR UZ ZAMAN (Photo credit should read MUNIR UZ ZAMAN/AFP/Getty Images)

After a hard-fought win in the ODI series against Afghanistan, the Bangladesh Cricket Board has made the decision to recall pacer Al-Amin Hossain back into their bowling ranks. Hossain, who was rested for the Afghanistan series will be making his way back into a 14-member side that has been named for the first two ODIs against England.

Bangladesh has also retained Mosharraf Hossain in the side after the latter’s impressive bowling performance of 3/24 in the home side’s impressive 141-run victory over Afghanistan in the third and final ODI of the series. Hossain had played his first ODI in almost eight years and the left-arm spinner will be expected to make an impact with his experience in the ODIs against England.

Habibul Bashar, the chief selector as well as the former Bangladesh skipper went ahead and said that it was important to recall Al-Amin Hossain s the returning Rubel Hossain was lacking match fitness. Rubel Hossain was missing from the side after being handed a one-year ban by the BCB.

Also Read – Ravichandran Ashwin reveals the Test match that changed his life

“We brought back Al-Amin as we found Rubel lacked match fitness after coming from a long injury lay-off,” selector Habibul Bashar told AFP. “He (Al-Amin) was always an option as he was part of our ODI pool. Mosharraf impressed against Afghanistan. So we also retained him,” he said.

England will be playing their first ODI of the series on the 7th of October at Dhaka, a match that will effectively commence the much-anticipated tour. England will also stay  on in Bangladesh for a two-match Test series. A 15-member England ODI squad arrived in the Bangladeshi capital Dhaka on Friday and was immediately met by a security detail.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nasir Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Mosharraf Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain and Taskin Ahmed.

Also Read – Cops interrogating pitch invader who ran into embrace Mashrafe Mortaza