Bangladesh players fined for allowing female guests in hotel room

Bangladesh players fined for allowing female guests in hotel room

Sabbir Rahman
Bangladesh cricketer Sabbir Rahman. (Photo Source: BPL)

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has levied a record fine on their players Sabbir Rahman and Al-Amin Hossain after they reportedly entertained female guests in their hotel room following a BPL match. “Pace bowler Al-Amin Hossain and batsman Sabbir Rahman were both fined around $15,000 for serious off-field disciplinary breaches during the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Twenty20 tournament”, said the BCB in a statement late Tuesday.

Though the statement didn’t disclose details of the charges, reputed Bangladeshi daily ‘Prothom Alo’ reported that they were penalized for taking female guests to their hotel rooms. “The players have been reminded of their responsibility as national cricketers and have been warned that any repetition of similar acts of indiscretion in the future will result in harsher penalty,” the BCB said.

BPL which is modelled on the cash-rich Indian Premier League has been blighted by match fixing scandals, prompting the authorities to terminate the tournament for two years. Seven franchises are currently fighting it out in the BPL season 4 which includes big names such as Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, West Indies’ Chris Gayle and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

The fine imposed on Sabbir and Al-Amin is the highest levied upon any cricketer for breaching the code of conduct. While Al-Amin’s fine amounts to 50% of his BPL contract with the Barisal Bulls, Sabbir’s fine is equal to 30% of his pay from the Rajshahi Kings.

BCB has also fined Sabbir and Afghan wicketkeeper Mohammad Shehzad 15% of their match fees due to a heated argument on the field. Shehzad who has been suspended for two matches elbowed Sabbir with the bat when he was celebrating at the fall of his wicket during a match on Monday.

The knockout stages of the tournament will commence from 6th December with the final to be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on December 9.