Bangladesh Tri-series 2018: Injury concerns pile up for Sri Lanka, Kusal Perera ruled out

It is worth noting that Kusal Perera is not the first player from the squad to get injured.

Kusal Perera Sri Lanka |
Kusal Perera plays a shot. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The injury concerns seem to be on the rise for the touring Sri Lanka side in Bangladesh. The islanders are currently in Bangladesh for a full tour. Prior to the Tests and T20Is, they are currently engaged in the ODI tri-series that has Bangladesh and Zimbabwe as the other two teams. Much to the disappointment of the Sri Lankan fans, the team has been jolted with yet another injury concern.

One of the promising batsmen in their top order, Kusal Perera has been ruled out of the remainder of the series following a side strain. The injury has put question marks over his participation in the subsequent Tests and T20Is as well. This comes as a big blow for team Sri Lanka since they have already had very troubled times in the recent past.


In the context of the series, this could be a big blow considering the fact that Perera was one of the key performers for the team in the previous outing against Zimbabwe. He had scored a valuable 49 in the match which the islanders won. This was their first win on the tour. Earlier in the series, they had lost to Bangladesh and Zimbabwe respectively in their first two outings.

Replacement announced

It is worth noting that Kusal Perera is not the first player from the squad to get injured. Senior cricketer, Angelo Mathews, who has unfortunately been a perennial candidate for injuries, was also ruled out of the series recently. Meanwhile, the selectors have named young batsman Dhananjaya de Silva as the replacement for Kusal Perera in the side.

The current standings in the points table of the series sees all sides equally poised with a chance to play in the finals. Bangladesh has two wins to their name. Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe have only one win in the series respectively. In a bid to qualify for the finals, Sri Lanka will have to beat Bangladesh in their match on January 25 at Dhaka. The finals of the series will be played on January 27, 2018.

Catch more developments on this and top leading cricket news on