‘Batters should be given warning twice or thrice’- Smriti Mandhana opines on Mankading law

Another instance of Mankading happened during T20 Women's World Cup.

Smriti Mandhana
Smriti Mandhana. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

The Mankad rule has certainly hogged the spotlight due to its increase in the last couple of years. There has been a long debate going on over the controversial rule as some want it to be removed from clause whereas some have voiced their support regarding the same.

In the ongoing Women World Cup, there was an instance during a game between England and South Africa when there was a big opportunity for Katherine Brunt to Mankad opposition team’s batsman in a crucial situation of the match. However, she won several hearts by not doing it. Later on, she received lots of applauds from the opposition as well as from across the globe for showing such sportsmanship under such an intense situation.


Smriti Mandhana suggests some amendments in Mankading rule

But, that doesn’t put a full stop on an everlasting debate over the controversial rule of Mankading. Smriti Mandhana, the star India Women opener in the pre-match conference, said that it is a rule that a bowler has every right to run the batter out if they are out of their crease. But, the batters should be given at least a warning once, twice or thrice during the game. And after that, if a batter keeps committing the same thing, then the bowler has the right to do Mankading.

However, her main focus was to give warning to the player standing on the non-striker’s end. She also added that the same thing applies to her when she will be playing with a burst of cheeky laughter.

Earlier, James Anderson, the veteran pacer from England had also urged ICC to remove this law as it is something against the spirit of the sports. He came out with a request after Noor Ahmed, Afghanistan spinner pulled off a Mankad act to dismiss Pakistan’s U19 opener Mohammad Huraira in their quarterfinal clash at the U19 World cup.

Here is the video:

Two warning for a mankad?

Bowlers have every right to mankad, but 'warn me twice', laughs Smriti mandhana 😆

Geplaatst door ESPNcricinfo op Woensdag 26 februari 2020