BCB President confirms schedule and Asia XI squad to face World XI in T20I series

Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav will feature in both the games for Asia XI.

Nazmul Hassan
Nazmul Hassan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After a long wait, the Bangladesh Cricket Board has finally confirmed the list of players who will be a part of the Asia XI squad in the upcoming Asia XI vs World XI T20I series. The series will feature two games as Bangladesh will celebrate the 100th birth anniversary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

BCB President Nazmul Hassan Papon talked to the media on Sunday (8th March) and revealed that BCB has finalized the schedule as well as the Asia XI squad. Speaking of Virat Kohli’s availability for this match, Nazmul mentioned that there is confusion over his participation, however, he disclosed that KL Rahul will play one game in this series.


We’re waiting for Australian Players: BCB President

Earlier, it was being speculated that the two big matches will take place on 18th and 21st March, however, BCB has declared that the two games will happen on 21st and 22nd March. Besides, there was an update on the World XI squad as well. Nazmul Hassan said that 11 players have been confirmed for the World XI squad, however, BCB is still waiting for the Australian Players.

He was quoted as follows by, “Asia XI have been finalized. I got the list perfectly. There are 11 players in the World XI right now, 3 or 4 more players will make it 15. We’re waiting for Australian players. Other countries are fairly final. PSL (Pakistan Super League) is going on, so hopefully, we can finish within 1-2 days. We want cricketers to come from all countries, players from Australia as well. And that’s why we’re waiting. But 11 players have been confirmed.”

He later talked about the Indian players who will be a part of this historic series. Hassan disclosed that unlike Kohli and Rahul, the quartet of Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav will feature in both the games for Asia XI. The Asia XI squad even features local Bangladeshi stars like Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal and Mustafizur Rahman.

Asia XI Squad: KL Rahul (one game), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Mohammad Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan, Mustafizur Rahman, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lasith Malinga, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Virat Kohli (TBC)