BCCI announces India Test squad for South Africa series, Bumrah makes the cut

Veteran Gujarat wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel has been added to the squad as the back up wicketkeeper.

Indian team
Indian team celebrates a wicket. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 17-man India Test squad for the upcoming Test series against South Africa. During India’s full tour of South Africa that commences in the last week of December, the team will play a 3-match Test series. The first Test will be played on January 5. The selectors have stuck to their tried and tested combination ahead of the big series. The core of the team remains pretty much the same as the one that is currently playing against Sri Lanka.

One big inclusion is that of pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah. The Indian team management was expected to beef up their pace bowling department considering the conditions in South Africa. Bumrah makes the cut as the beneficiary of the same policy. In addition to Bumrah, the other pacers in the squad are Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Ishant Sharma.


Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are the two spinners in the squad. There is no room for Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal in the Test side, as many had speculated. Ajinkya Rahane, despite his poor form, continues to stay in the side as he is India’s one of the most successful Test players in the overseas conditions. The opening group comprises of Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, and KL Rahul. Hardik Pandya, who was rested from the Sri Lanka Test series, is back in the India Test squad for the South Africa series.

Rohit Sharma makes it to the squad as well after his decent showing in the final two Tests against Sri Lanka. Wriddhiman Saha is the preferred wicketkeeper yet again. Veteran Gujarat wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel has been added to the squad as the back up wicketkeeper.

Here is the Indian squad for the South Africa Test series:

Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.